My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Alabama ft Jamey Johnson – ‘My Home’s In Alabama’

3 responses to “Classic Rewind: Alabama ft Jamey Johnson – ‘My Home’s In Alabama’

  1. Ken September 3, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Alabama’s third charted single – peaked at #17 in early 1980. This has to be one of the most boring songs in Alabama’s catalog. It always seemed to be a concert favorite for their die hard fans but I personally never “got” this song – perhaps because I’m not from Alabama nor the South. Whenever they played this at a concert I was attending it gave me a chance to go to the refreshment stand.
    Jamey Johnson’s tedious monotone vocal on this version makes me dislike this song even more than I already did.

  2. Paul W Dennis September 4, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    I would have thought that DJs would have appreciated the extra break time this song affords

    I like Jamey Johnson but this song is nothing special. It was not one of my favorite Alabama singles although I don’t dislike the song. This version is okay – I can take it or leave it.

    • Ken September 4, 2015 at 7:43 pm

      RE: DJ’s – I guess if they played the long version. The MDJ Promo single had the full 6:24 version on one side and a 3:58 Radio Edit on the flip. Because my station was apprehensive of the regional subject matter to begin with we opted to play the short version. Even that version was met with apathy by our listeners and we dropped the song after about 6 weeks. I know it was big in the south but in my region it never caught on. However their next single “Tennessee River” was HUGE.

Leave a comment