My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: George Strait & Alan Jackson – ‘Murder on Music Row’

16 responses to “Classic Rewind: George Strait & Alan Jackson – ‘Murder on Music Row’

  1. highwayman3 November 12, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Just what, 8 years ago the CMA felt the message of this song was appropriate enough to award it song of the year the second year it was nominated, then last night the same organization voted the way they did. Theres no doubt that some of those people who voted for this song voted for Taylor last night. The credibility of these awards are out the window.

  2. Occasional Hope November 12, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    It’s a very depressing day.

  3. Razor X November 12, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    I won’t lie and say that I’m not disgusted, but I’m not nearly as upset as I thought I would be under these circumstances. Sometime during the past two years, I resigned myself to the fact that mainstream country music is irretrievably lost and that anyone who wants to listen to decent music is going to have to listen to the older stuff or seek out the “underground” music on the fringes, i.e., alt.country, Americana, etc. Mainstream country has been on its deathbed for several years now. Last night the plug was finally pulled on the ventilator.

  4. Lep November 12, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    It really is a sad state of affairs. As I said on The 9513, yesterday was the day I think I officially gave up on modern mainstream country music. It’s been a gradual process, but last night was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

    Country music remains alive and well, and there’s still plenty of excellent, authentic country music being made. You’re just not likely to hear it on any of the mainstream outlets.

    • Razor X November 12, 2009 at 3:25 pm

      Mainstream country music and I have been involved in a trial separation for some time now, but I think last night proved that the rift is a permanent one. I know that there have been plenty of times in the past when people have complained about it becoming too pop, and the pendulum has always swung back. But that was in the days when a small group of conglomerates didn’t control all the radio stations and four big labels dominated the marketplace. I don’t think the pendulum will be allowed to swing back this time. The only thing to do is move on and seek out the good music that is out there on the fringes, and be glad that the internet has made the task a lot easier than it was in the past.

      It will be very interesting to see how things play out over the next few years. We’ll probably be subjected to more Taylor wannabes for a while before the fad runs it course. And when it does run its course, Nashville will be in dire straits to be sure; I don’t see the Taylor fans sticking around for the long haul and supporting other country acts — and the longtime fans will all have been alienated from the mainstream. It will be difficult, if not downright impossible, for them to win us all back.

  5. Steve from Boston November 12, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Great choice for his sad occasion Razor, and great comments everybody. But I’m not in total shock either.The domination of the genre by the likes of Carrie, Rascal Flatts, and Keith Urban portended just this inevitiablility. Miley is next on deck, mark my words.

    And I cannot think of two better troubadors than AJ and King George to deliver this sad eulogy via this great song.

    But our kind of country survives, thanks to the likes of these two fine gentemen and Patty Loveless and some others. And folks they have inspired, like Joey + Rory, who offer some hope for the future. Thank God for these keepers of the flame. And the old vets are still kickin’ George Jones and Ralph Stanley, and there’s a whole lot of great Bluegrass still out there as well.

    Yep, but “mainstream country” (oh how I hate that they have hijacked the term) is in the hands of the” tween demographic”, and this sad state of affairs will not change unless and until grownups wake up and take back control of the marketplace.

    This is what happens when children are in charge, and text messaging twelve year olds turn country music and it’s venerated institutions into one giant pajama party.

    I’ve been saying this for a few years now, and have been criticised for being too narrow in my definition of true country. They tell me there is room for everybody under Country’s broad tent.

    Well, if that’s thje case, let these pop princesses and there fans trade places with us, let THEM be on the finges instead of the folks who continue to make great and authentic real Country music. Let THEM struggle for airplay and awards. And give back the term “mainstream country” to the folks that actually built the genre.

    • Nicole November 12, 2009 at 11:02 pm

      I agree with everything you said, except the bit about Miley. She is too busy trying to convince everyone she is a rock star and, apparently, teaching Taylor floor-humping dance moves to get into country. Maybe after her meltdown….

      I still have hope that things will change, but it won’t until someone with a traditional sound and star quality becomes the hottest thing in music, by some miracle. That’s the way things work, I guess. I just hope it happens sooner rather than later.

      • Razor X November 12, 2009 at 11:37 pm

        I’ve been waiting for 13 years and counting for things to get better, and I’m afraid to say that I’ve pretty much given up hope. The only recourse available is to look outside the mainstream for new artists.

      • Steve from Boston November 13, 2009 at 3:15 am

        You may be right about Miley, Nicole. But the way things are going, when Taylor’s reign has run it’s course, the country crown is Miley’s for the asking, if she wants it. It is that worthless now, devalued by the mockery and the absurdity that has become the CMA. and the ACM.

        And Razor, the other option is to hold on to what we have, and fully support artists like Patty as they continue to crank out the good stuff. And you certainly have done your part in that regard. And folks like Joey + Rory deserve our full support, Miranda and a few others…Jamey Johnson, a few great ones still slip through Music Row’s cookie cutter mediocrity filter..and actually make appearances at awards shows and get airtime.

        I love Jamey’s statement that he was amazed that the CMA actually wanted him on the show…I’m amazed JJ wanted to be on, and that is no dig against him.

  6. Paul W Dennis November 12, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    This was the media event darling but THE great version of the song was David Frizzell’s single

    • Leeann Ward November 12, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      I never really liked this song. I appreciate the sentiment, but I always found the melody to be incredibly boring. Oops. Did I just say that out loud?

    • Steve from Boston November 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

      I also have it on a Bluegrass compilation I have somewhere, but I don’t remember who did that version.

      • Occasional Hope November 12, 2009 at 5:48 pm

        Larry Cordle, maybe? He’s one of the writers.

      • Steve from Boston November 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm

        Good call Lisa, I just found it on my Bluegrass Today compilation (which includes Patty’s The Boys Are Back in Town, by the way 😉 ) and the song credit is Larry Cordle and Lonesome Standard Time.

  7. kevin w November 13, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I know, Taylor winning Entertainer of the year. So depressing.
    I may shoot myself over this horrific event.

  8. Pingback: Spotlight Artist: Alan Jackson « My Kind Of Country

Leave a comment