My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Poll – Grammy For Best Female Country Vocal Performance

grammy1Here we have another entry in our Grammy poll series, this time for best female country vocal performance! In my opinion, this is a fairly strong category. I apologize for having so many polls close together, but the Grammys are fast approaching and there are still some country categories left!

As usual, check out the Grammy Flashback over at Country Universe!

Here’s the poll:

One annoying thing I see is the inclusion of “Last Name” over “Just A Dream”. With “Last Name”, Carrie has no chance, or at least doesn’t deserve the award at all. I liked “Last Name” at first, but I quickly got tired of the scream-fest. I hope she gets better material, or at least learns how to interpret songs better because she has so much potential.

Next, Martina’s song is good, but not amazing. It’s a nice song, but not Grammy worthy, in my opinion. It’s one of my favorites from Waking Up Laughing, but I think “Love Land” and “House Of A Thousand Dreams” were much better in every way- they deserved to be singles instead.

That leaves the last three nominees- three stellar ladies singing three superb songs. One of those three will win, but I prefer Trisha or Womack, but I would be satisfied with LeAnn winning as well. “What I Cannot Change” is LeAnn’s best vocal performance, up with “Probably Wouldn’t Be This Way” as her best overall. She sings well, and the song has a great message and perfect production.

So which is my favorite? If my 2008 singles list was any indication, I love “Last Call” to a fault, it being the song that got me to like Lee Ann Womack in the first place. I love the story, the production, the emotion, and most of all, Lee Ann’s performance. It’s one of my absolute favorite songs, and definitely my favorite Lee Ann Womack song. It is more than deserving of a Grammy.

But the Yearwood single? It’s another amazing song, and is right up there with “Last Call”, so I really wouldn’t mind if it won either, and it probably will win. I would also be OK with LeAnn winning, so I really like this group of songs (except “Last Name”).

So what do you think? Make sure to vote and then post why!

18 responses to “Poll – Grammy For Best Female Country Vocal Performance

  1. Leeann Ward January 26, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I think the Yearwood song will win. Although it’s not one of my favorites, I know I’m nearly alone in this, which is fine because I know it’s not a bad song in the least. I definitely support a Yearwood win here. My preference, however, is the Rimes song. I agree with you on Carrie’s single. I kinda liked it at first, but I’ve since grown tired of what she does with her voice on it. I liked her vocals on “Before He Cheats” much better. As for the Womack song, I like it well enough, but have never really been able to get into her music, as I’ve shamefully admitted in the past. Finally, the Martina song is just really boring to me. I just didn’t like anything from that album.

  2. Rainbow January 27, 2009 at 1:53 am

    “Laaaaaaaaast Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaame” would be an unworthy winner. The Rimes fantatic that I am, I will be rooting for her. Her vocal performance on “What I Cannot Change” is much better than Trisha’s on “This Is Me You’re Talking To”, even though Trisha is wonderful, as always.

  3. Jordan Stacey January 27, 2009 at 10:51 am

    You could make and arguement for anyone of them winning (except “Last Name” what’s it doing there?), but if I had a say I’d give it to LeAnn Rimes as I think vocally it’s the best performance here. Lee Ann Womack has the strongest written song, Trisha Yearwood has best all round (lyrics + vocal), while Martina gives her most emotive performance (on a single) in a long….looooooooooong time. I would only be dissapointed with Carrie winning this.

  4. Rainbow January 27, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I also love the Martina song. One of her best, but judging strictly on vocals, LeAnn wins. This is an exceptionally strong bunch of songs, the Carrie one being the sole stinker.

  5. Occasional Hope January 27, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    My personal choice would be Last Call, which is a perfectly judged vocal on a truly excellent song. I wouldn’t be too disappointed if Trisha Yearwood won, though.

    I agree that LeAnn Rimes’ vocal is very fine but tbh I find the song a bit trite (I hope Rainbow doesn’t kill me for saying that).

    Martina’s song is boring, and Carrie’s is horribly oversung (it might have been quite a fun little piece if she didn’t take it all so seriously, and intensely, and worst of all, LOUD).

  6. Chris D. January 27, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    It’s odd, there are many people voting for “Last Name” who aren’t posting.

    Interesting how Martina has no votes, but the other 4 are all around the same level.

    Should be interesting to see who the real winner is!

  7. Occasional Hope January 27, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    “It’s odd, there are many people voting for “Last Name” who aren’t posting.”

    Either they’re ashamed to admit it (as they should be), or some Carrie fanboard is spamming the poll.

  8. Jane January 27, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    I think Martina’s song is really good – One of my faves from Waking up Laughing, but I’d be pleased to see Last Call or What I cannot change win too.

  9. CMW January 27, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Okay, I’ll admit it. I’ve been voting Underwood continuously since the poll went up yesterday.

  10. J.R. Journey January 27, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I knew it, CMW!

  11. CMW January 27, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I’m so predictable.

    But I actually voted “Last Call.”

  12. Billy January 28, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I’d be happy with any of the songs but Last Name. I’m still trying to figure out how it got nominated. I voted What I Cannot Change, LeAnn’s vocals have never sounded so good.

  13. CF January 29, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Voted for “Last Call”, but I wouldn’t mind if Trisha won, either 🙂 .

  14. Steve from Boston January 30, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Well since Patty Loveless was not nominated in this category for “Crazy Arms” which is my absolute favorite female vocal performance out there today, I went with Trisha Yearwood.

    I really hope Trisha wins this category this year.

  15. Cory Wilson February 8, 2009 at 8:37 am

    It’s all about about Rimes this yearwith WICC!!

  16. Erik February 8, 2009 at 9:30 am

    LeAnn for President of the world!

  17. Cory DeStein February 8, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Yearwood was robbed this year, heck all of them were. Last Name was my Last Choice

  18. Razor X February 8, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I’ve noticed over the years, not so much with the Grammys, but with the CMAs and ACMs, in any given category, if there are four nominees I like and one I don’t , the one I don’t like usually seems to win.

Leave a comment