My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Ronnie Milsap – ‘(I’d Be) A Legend In My Time’

8 responses to “Classic Rewind: Ronnie Milsap – ‘(I’d Be) A Legend In My Time’

  1. Paul W Dennis March 17, 2017 at 9:18 am

    Nice but I prefer Don Gibson’s version (both RCA and Hickory). I also really liked Kenny Price’s version from his 1973 RCA album SEA OF HEARTBREAK.

    Gibson never released the song as the “A” side of a single – it was the “B” side of “Far Far Away”, a song that reached #11 Billboard, #4 Cashbox, #7 Music Vendor (later Record World). It also appeared as an album track on Don’s Hickory album COUNTRY GREEN. Even though never a single, I remember hearing it played on country radio when I was about eight years old and it was a frequently played “oldie” on most of the country stations I listened to such as WTID, WCMS, WHOO, WWVA, WSM and WSUN

    • Luckyoldsun March 18, 2017 at 10:28 pm

      It’s such a brilliantly written song in the classic country style that I wonder why more country singers didn’t record it. Seems to me, it would have fit Jones, Merle, Charley Pride, Willie, or, in later years, Randy Travis. I haven’t been able to find a version by any of them. Johnny Cash cut it, but it was in that late Rick Ruben period, which is not really classic Cash. I suppose Gene Watson can still take a crack at it.
      There’s one country legend version of “Legend” that I found and, not surprisingly, he nailed it.

    • Ken March 19, 2017 at 5:42 pm

      Always been a fan of both the Don Gibson and Ronnie Milsap versions of this song. Gibson’s distinctive soulful style on the original 1960 recording is indeed a classic performance. But Ronnie Milsap also offers a memorable recorded rendition especially when he goes up an octave near the end and holds that final note. I’ve heard him do that song live and it’s quite impressive. No studio tricks there.

      Never heard the Gibson version played on the radio in my area. Perhaps it was a regional hit. Back in the day some stations would choose to program B sides in addition to or instead of the A side of singles. Stations had autonomy in those days and weren’t strictly governed by playlists dictated by their corporate owners. In any case RCA felt that song was significant enough to be included on Don’s 1965 album “The Best Of Don Gibson.” However his writing credit may have played a major role in that selection as well.

      • Paul W Dennis March 20, 2017 at 9:16 pm

        I think that exaggerated ending where Ronnie went up an octave and tortured that last note was a big turn off me. It’s similar to singers holding the last note of “How Great Thou Art” forever. It’s a great display of lung power but adds absolutely nothing to the artistry of the performance

        • Luckyoldsun March 20, 2017 at 9:48 pm

          You mean like this

          or like this

          (I wouldn’t dispute the artistry of Carrie Underwood or Jimmy Fortune–or how they choose to end a song–but everyone’s entitled to their opinion.)

  2. Alan Jobe March 17, 2017 at 9:52 am

    I LOVE Ronnie Milsap, especially most of his songs from the 70s. But I will admit this song is not one of my favorites.

    I remember when Milsap released his amazing Greatest Hits album in 1980. It had 12 songs on it and this was the one song that I did not care for. I always wished he had included Only One Love In My Life instead of this one. (The other songs on the Hits album were I Hate You, Pure Love, Please Don’t Tell Me How the Story Ends, I’m A Stand By My Woman Man, Daydreams About Night Things, Let My Love Be Your Pillow, It Was Almost Like A Song, What A Difference You’ve Made In My Life, Let’s Take The Long Way Around The World, Back On My Mind Again, and Smoky Mountain Rain.

Leave a Reply

