My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Crystal Gayle – ‘Til I Gain Control Again’

2 responses to “Classic Rewind: Crystal Gayle – ‘Til I Gain Control Again’

  1. Alan Jobe January 31, 2017 at 6:49 pm

    I love this particular version of the song. I love the arrangement. Does anyone know who was playing the beautiful piano part on this? I like it more than the album version actually.

    Kris Kristofferson looked like he was in pain singing the background vocals with Janie Fricke. I read somewhere a few years ago that he was dealing with memory loss. He claimed it was from football and boxing, I believe. Did he suffer a stroke? I certainly hope not.

    And how special to see Bobby Bare and for Crystal to acknowledge that Bobby had recorded the song. Emmylou, Willie, and Waylon usually get credit for the song (as well as Rodney), but I’m glad she reminded everyone that Bobby recorded it too. He really seemed to enjoy Crystal singing it.

  2. Luckyoldsun January 31, 2017 at 7:19 pm

    This whole series has been top-notch from the get-go. It’s hard to overstate what a valuable thing the producers did in arranging to bring all these veteran country greats together to sing their past hits, back each other up, and get it all down on video. It’s nice to see the interaction among the artists, whether from the same era or different periods. Crystal sounds great here. Speaking of Crowell, I don’t recall ever seeing him–or Rosanne Cash, for that matter–at any of these sessions. It’s too bad for them…and us. They both belong there. I don’t know if this series is still being made. This particular session looks to be from around 15 years ago.

Leave a Reply

