My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Mark Chesnutt – ‘Talkin’ To Hank’

The legendary Hank Williams died on January 1, 1953.

3 responses to “Classic Rewind: Mark Chesnutt – ‘Talkin’ To Hank’

  1. Luckyoldsun January 1, 2017 at 9:40 pm

    I say Chesnutt was the best of the neo-traditional honkytonk singers. Without looking it up, I seem to recall this was a cut on his second album/CD, “Longnecks and Short Stories”–the one that featured “Bubba Shot the Jukebox.” Great stuff–he sounds like Jones when he sings “…said he was only 29.”

  2. dimskip January 2, 2017 at 2:14 pm

    LOS, if you’re talking about the recorded version on the LN&SS album (which I think you must be because Chesnutt doesn’t sound like GJ to me when he sings that line here) that’s because it featured “special guest George Jones.”
    __________

    Or perhaps you were just intentionally lobbing a soft one to your usual sparring partner for “trolling fun.” Which I hope not, but some people on the internet certainly **do** seem to enjoy such an approach for some reason, so I can’t rule it out.

    Since I’m taking the time to comment (which I have only done on extremely rare occasions, possibly only once or twice ever), I just gotta add, speaking only for myself of course… I am extremely tired of that occasional feud or clash of personalities which tends to get way too personal in tone imo. While it’s perfectly OK, of course, to dispute facts and matters of record (pun intended) in a calm, civil, and respectful manner (especially while providing links to authoritative supporting evidence), the tone of some of the repartee too often verges on personal snide commentary and/or insults for my taste. Perhaps I’m too sensitive or reading too much into it, I don’t know. But when that “feud” flares up from time to time, it makes the site a little less enjoyable for me. …Just saying, you know, for what it’s worth.

    Other than that… Happy New Year to **ALL** the MKoC folks… bloggers, readers, and regular and irregular commenters alike. I do enjoy reading the opinions, hearing the music, and occasionally finding out about some “new” artist I hadn’t previously been exposed to. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

