My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Mel Tillis – ‘I Could Have Gone Right’

3 responses to “Classic Rewind: Mel Tillis – ‘I Could Have Gone Right’

  1. Tyler Pappas October 2, 2016 at 11:11 pm

    My first experience with this song was by Merle Haggard on his “Mama Tried” Record. I think it’s just one of many classics written by Mel.

  2. Paul W Dennis October 3, 2016 at 6:57 am

    mine too

  3. Ken October 4, 2016 at 10:20 am

    I first heard this great song on Stonewall Jackson’s 1965 Columbia album “Trouble And Me” [CS 9078] The prison theme reminded me of his first big hit “Life To Go.” Stonewall recorded two other Mel Tillis songs on that LP “Mama’s Bible” and “Stateside.” After Mel became a successful singer he recorded many of the songs that other artists had done – often as album tracks – but this song was not among them.

    Here’s Stonewall’s version. Note that he sings the first line as “I was BORNED a good boy…” in his trademark rural vernacular.

Leave a Reply

