My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton – ‘The Last Thing On My Mind’

The duo’s first hit single:

4 responses to “Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton – ‘The Last Thing On My Mind’

  1. luckyoldsun August 5, 2016 at 12:55 am

    I did not know that this was Porter and Dolly’s first single. It’s interesting because the song was written and originally recorded in the early ’60s by Tom Paxton, a far-left folk-singer and Pete Seeger acolyte–but a terrific songwriter. It’s nice that Porter, who seems to have been a polar opposite of Paxton, politically, had no problem with using his song. Paxton has had a long and successful career in his own right, and per his website, is still touring and doing concerts.
    I wonder if Dolly has ever crossed paths with Paxton over the years and if she ever performed the song with him!
    Here’s Tom doing the song twice–some four-plus decades apart.

  2. Paul W Dennis August 5, 2016 at 6:44 am

    My dad was also a fan of the “Hootenanny” or folk movement of the late 1950s-early 1960s until it became too outwardly lunatic left-wing, so I was very familiar with both Paxton’s original version (from his RAMBLIN’ BOY album – the only consistently good album he ever made) and also the version by the Chad Mitchell Trio (from their TYPICAL AMERICAN BOYS album with member Joe Frazier singing it as a solo) . Dad was partial to Paxton’s original recording whereas I preferred the Chad Mitchell Trio version. Although dad really liked country music, Dad did not care for Porter & Dolly’s version, whereas I liked it quite a bit.

  3. Ken August 5, 2016 at 10:19 am

    Wonderful clip from a holiday-themed Porter Wagoner Show. I love that Porter seasonally amended the lyrics to include “please don’t go – it might snow.”

    In the late 1960’s I never looked at this song from a political viewpoint nor was I familiar with Tom Paxton other than noticing his name on the songwriting credit. I just thought it was a great song. However Porter & Dolly’s late 1967 single was not my introduction to it. Earlier that year Charley Pride released it on his second album “Pride Of Country Music.” He recorded it again the next year for his “Live -In Person” album at Panther Hall. Though Porter & Dolly really nailed it I’ve always been partial to Charley’s live track with Lloyd Green on steel guitar. Lloyd’s tasty accents and fills are just brilliant!

  4. Paul W Dennis August 5, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    I remember the Pride recording too, although I obtained my copy of PRIDE OF COUNTRY MUSIC after I obtained the Panther Hall recording

Leave a Reply

