My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner & Dolly Parton – ‘Just Someone I Used To Know’

6 responses to “Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner & Dolly Parton – ‘Just Someone I Used To Know’

  1. Paul W Dennis August 3, 2016 at 5:21 am

    a/k/a “A Girl I Used To Know” as recorded by George Jones in 1963

  2. Ken August 3, 2016 at 11:21 am

    Interesting to hear a more “country” styled arrangement of their hit featuring fiddle and 1950’s style steel guitar. The studio version was a “Nashville Sound” production with a chorus of horns and pedal steel. I do miss hearing Buck Trent’s electric banjo licks. This clip is post-1973 after Buck had left Porter’s Wagonmasters band.

    • Razor X August 3, 2016 at 2:57 pm

      Their studio recording is the best version of the song – by any artists. So many people have recorded this song — were Porter and Dolly the first to retool the song from the original “A Girl I Used To Know”?

      • Ken August 4, 2016 at 1:27 pm

        I don’t recall anyone changing the lyrics & title prior to Porter & Dolly. It’s one of the few songs that became a hit more than once under different titles with slightly amended lyrics. Another is “I Don’t Believe I’ll Fall In Love Today” [Warren Smith-1960] “I Wish I Could Fall In Love Today” [Ray Price-1960] and “I Wish That I Could Fall In Love Today” [Barbara Mandrell -1988]

        • luckyoldsun August 4, 2016 at 9:44 pm

          “Hey Joe,” [Carl Smith, 1953]; “Hey Joe, Hey Moe,” [Bandy/Stampley, 1981]. And quite a few gender-changes like “She Thinks I Still Care”/”He Thinks….”

  3. Razor X August 6, 2016 at 10:12 pm

    “There’s a selfie on my smartphone
    One we made some time ago.
    When they ask who’s in the selfie with me
    I say, “Just someone I used to know.”

Leave a Reply

