My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Album Review: Jon Pardi – ‘California Sunrise’

71aFoU3QlUL._SX522_When reviewing new music, I always try to follow two basic rules: (1) not to expect too much and (2) not to read any other reviews until I’ve had a chance to listen to it myself, so as not to be influenced by anyone else’s opinion. I didn’t initially expect to review Jon Pardi’s California Sunrise, so I’d already inadvertently broken Rule #2 by the time I decided to do it. The generally favorable reviews I read caused me to break Rule #1 and raise my expectations — which set me up for a huge disappointment.

Hailed as an album that tries to steer country music back towards it roots, California Sunrise is the most uninspired collection of songs that I’ve heard so far this year. I do give Pardi and producer Bart Butler for avoiding the EDM elements that have infested country music in recent years and for mostly avoiding bro-country cliches. They also make more use of country instrumentation – i.e., fiddle and steel – than is usually the case these days and that is appreciated, but ultimately the country elements are drowned out by too-loud electric guitars and hick-hop rhythms. Pardi’s vocals, which remind me of a blend of Brad Paisley and early Gary Allan, are also drowned out by the too-loud production.

Pardi is credited as a co-writer on eight of the album’s twelve songs, which partially explains why listening to the album seems like playing the same song over and over. One exception is the lead single “Head Over Boots”, which he wrote with Luke Laird, which really isn’t bad but it’s not great either. Pardi did not the album’s two most noteworthy songs: “She Ain’t In It” and “Dirt On My Boots”, which are the album’s best and worst cuts respectively. The former, written by Clint Daniels and Wynn Varble is the only song on the album that I truly liked — the one bonafide country number about a protagonist trying to resume his social life after a bad break-up. The bro-countryish “Dirt On My Boots” comes to us courtesy of Rhett Akins, Jesse Frassure and Ashley Gorley is downright terrible (I’m guessing it will be the next single), but to be fair “All Time High” written by Pardi, Bart Butler and Brice Long isn’t a whole lot better.

The remaining songs are bland, lyrically light and tend to all bleed together and aren’t worthy of individual commentary.

Jon Pardi is a talented but not exceptional vocalist, who has a lot of potential if he can only find better material. California Sunrise is not a traditional album, though it certainly comes closer than most of today’s other mainstream releases. If Pardi can tone down the rock elements and volume, and lean a little more on those country roots, he may release a great album one day, but he’s not there yet. Download “She Ain’t In It” and skip the rest.

Grade: C-

4 responses to “Album Review: Jon Pardi – ‘California Sunrise’

  1. Jonathan Pappalardo July 5, 2016 at 11:16 am

    Generally I try to follow the rule of only reviewing artists I don’t have a negative bias towards, so I can objectively review the music. It doesn’t make any sense to me to review artists I out rightly hate going in. I generally follow the don’t read reviews rule, too. I also don’t look at concert set list before the show – I like the element of surprise going in. So many rules!!!

  2. Occasional Hope July 5, 2016 at 2:46 pm

    I was disappointed by this one too, as I enjoyed his first album and expected more.

  3. Leeann July 5, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    I feel the same as Ocasional Hope.

  4. Paul W Dennis July 6, 2016 at 8:48 am

    A definite step backward, but not a complete but not a complete disaster. None of these tracks would send me changing the channel if they came on the radio while I was driving. The sound ranges from solid country to something less than that, and the lyrics are largely uninspired

    Let’s see if he can get back on track with the next album

    C+

Leave a Reply

