My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Daily Archives: March 28, 2013

Classic Rewind: George Jones – ‘Seasons Of My Heart’

Album Review: Collin Raye – ‘His Love Remains’

hisloveremainsReligious albums, like Christmas albums, are often eschewed because they all tend to rely on largely the same set of songs. Collin Raye managed to avoid falling into this trap with 2011’s His Love Remains, a tastefully produced collection of traditional hymns and contemporary Christian songs that are largely a reflection of his Roman Catholic upbringing.

The opening track, the 18th century hymn “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” is the first of two duets with newcomer Andrea Thomas. Collin holds his own nicely with his much younger duet partner on this number, but his voice sounds strained on their second collaboration, the contemporary “How Beautiful”. His voice also sound a bit worn on the on the Eucharistic prayer, “O Lord, I Am Not Worthy”, a duet with Nashville-based Christian artist Marie Bellet. The rest of the album, however, finds him in good vocal form.

I’ve always been a huge fan of traditional Southern Gospel. While there are no Southern Gospel songs per se in this collection, my two favorite hymns “How Great Thou Art” and “Amazing Grace” are both represented. I’ve never heard a bad version of “How Great Thou Art”, though no one’s version can match The Statler Brothers’ definitive 1975 version. “Amazing Grace” is a bit lifeless in the beginning, but the production slowly builds with each verse to great effect. The third verse is one I’d never heard before:

Did Jesus bear his cross alone
And let the rest go free?
No, there’s a cross for all of us
And there’s one for you and me.

Not having been raised in the Southern Protestant tradition, I’ve rarely come across religious albums by country artists that contained songs I’d actually heard in church. By and large I haven’t had a problem with that, since I find most Catholic hymns to be rather boring. Raye, however, has included a handful of songs that are among my favorites, including “Here I Am, Lord”, “I Am The Bread Of Life”, and “Were You There?”, a spiritual of African-American origin that became popular in Catholic circles beginning in the 1970s. Also included is one of the Church of Rome’s most traditional and revered songs, “Ave Maria”, which has English language lyrics I’d never heard before, along with the traditional Latin. On “Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee” Raye avoids the temptation to use bombastic production and instead gives the hymn a simple but effective piano arrangement.

Among the more contemporary fare are two remakes from Collin’s major label days, “I Get What I Need”, and “Love Remains”, and the brand new “Undefeated”, all of which are worthwhile and enjoyable. I am somewhat less enthralled with the choir-led “Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence” which seems a bit out of place with the rest of the album.

Said to have been inspired by the loss of Collin’s young granddaughter, who died from a rare neurological disorder, His Love Remains will not be everyone’s cup of tea, but those who enjoy religious music and are looking for something a bit different from the usual fare will find it quite enjoyable.

Grade: A