My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

ACM predictions reviewed

The awards season is over for a while now, with Sunday’s ACM ceremony. Last week we shared our predictions, and although I’m usually the worst predictor of these things, I got the most right this time.

I correctly pegged Taylor Swift to win the partially fan-voted Entertainer of the Year based on her sizeable fan base, and Brad Paisley to retain his title as Top Male Vocalist of the Year. We all predicted Miranda Lambert‘s latest triumph as Top Female Vocalist, but only Razor X expected her hit ‘The House That Built Me’ to sweep Video, Single and Song categories (I only predicted Song, and J.R. got both Song and Single). She really is on a career high these days, although fiance Blake Shelton went home empty-handed this time.

All three of us were sure Sugarland were the only realistic choice for Top Vocal Duo of the Year given the limited success of their rivals, and Razor and I both guessed Lady Antebellum would continue their awards show streak with Top Vocal Group of the Year. None of us expected Lady A’s big-selling but very bland Need You Now, by far the least interesting candidate, to take the Album of the Year title.

J.R. and I both predicted The Band Perry to win Top New Artist, and the Zac Brown Band‘s collaboration with veteran Alan Jackson to pick up the award for Vocal Event of the Year.

2 responses to “ACM predictions reviewed

  1. J.R. Journey April 4, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I missed all the major awards. I picked Paisley for Entertainer, Shelton for Male Vocalist, and Swift for Album. I even missed my Video prediction.

  2. CountryMusicFan April 4, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    That is pretty much how I had them picked too. It definitely wasn’t how I wanted it to turn out. Overall, I thought the show was too “rocked” up. I remember why I quite watching the award shows now. I don’t know why intead of having Jennifer Neatles sing twice and Carrie Underwood sing a song almost a year old with Tyler, they couldn’t have included Justin Moore or Chris Young with their latest singles. Album of the year should have went to Jamey Johnson, hands down. I guess now one song gets you new artist of the year also. I personally think the Zac Brown Band put on the best performance, but that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

