My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

News: Miss Leslie heading into the studio

missleslieI had a wonderful chat tonight with Leslie Sloan of Miss Leslie and her Juke-Jointers fame.  We talked about Texas music, Kelly Willis and Rhonda Vincent.  The woman is amazing.  Busy as she is, she still found time to sit down and chat with little ole me.  She told me how much she loves Shelby Lynne – an affection I share.  She also told me she’s hoping to head into the studio next month to record some songs.  

We’re recording the new CD at Tommy Detamore’s in Floresville again. Bill Kirchen will be joining us on guitar for this project. It will be all originals. I’m really excited about getting these songs recorded. I promised myself I wouldn’t go into the studio until I felt like I could record a CD of at least equal quality to ‘Between the Whiskey and the Wine’. And I’m ready.

She told me she has 23 songs ready to go, but isn’t sure how many will actually make the cut.   So, thanks Leslie, for talking to me and keeping me updated on what’s going on.  You’ll forever be one my favorites!

Here’s one of the 23 songs she’s considering for the new album.  I am certainly pulling for this one to make the final cut.

Also, be sure to check out my exclusive interview with Miss Leslie from last month.  

After that, head over to the Official Miss Leslie site.

11 responses to “News: Miss Leslie heading into the studio

  1. Chris February 13, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Very cool! I hope she does well…

  2. Erik February 13, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Miss Leslie is just too awesome.
    The fact that she loves Shelby Lynne makes me love her even more.

    And, J.R., I expect some recognition for turning you onto Shelby Lynne. 😉

  3. Meg February 13, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Love the youtube video! Great song! Fun to see her and the J-Js “live” with the retro clothes! She just has a great way of interpreting the lyric both in her emotional delivery and the wonderful turns she takes in the melody! AND she plays fiddle on top of it all!

  4. Pingback: ACM Officials Reconsider Criteria For Album of the Year | The 9513

  5. J.R. Journey February 13, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Yes, I have to give credit to Erik for turning me onto the catalog of Shelby Lynne. Thanks Erik!

  6. Razor X February 13, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Excellent song. I really hope it makes it to the CD.

  7. Erik February 15, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Oh, and I demand credit for Miss Leslie too! I was ranting about how great she is on the forum long before the free CD offer thing! 😛

  8. J.R. Journey February 15, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Needy, aren’t you? I give Miss Leslie credit for my interest in her. You rant about a lot of things that I never take an interest in. That album was a masterpiece – that’s why I love it.

    But you did point her out first …

  9. Occasional Hope February 15, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    The new song is excellent; I hope her other originals are the same quality.

  10. chip September 16, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Leslie is cutting against the grain in a world of Pop, Rock, Bubblegum and even Rap Counrty music. For years, I failed to go out and support other bands. I was too busy doing my own thing. Leslie is the real deal and her music my be Country, but it is full of heart and soul. We must get out and support live music and heap praise upon the acts that we like. It will all surely go away if we don`t.

  11. Pingback: ACM Officials Reconsider Criteria For Album of the Year - Engine 145

Leave a Reply

