My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Daily Archives: January 30, 2009

Single Review: Lady Antebellum – ‘I Run To You’

Lady Antebellum

As I usually am when I review singles, I’m really bored. When I posted my poll for the Grammy for Best New Artist (here), I decided to make a playlist on iTunes of the 4 debut albums of the 4 nominees I actually like. Since I was snowed in since Tuesday, I was forced to finish applying for various scholarships. I had to do most, if not all, of the applications on the computer, so I got to listen to that playlist a lot this week. “I Run To You” seemed to turn up a lot… I knew it was a single, and I knew that I liked the song, but I just couldn’t pin down why.

Then it hit me this morning: it’s entirely the vocals. As with all of Lady Antebellum’s material, the lyrics and ideas behind the songs are mostly bland and uninspired, but the two lead vocalists- Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott- usually save the songs from mediocrity. Whether on “Love Don’t Live Here” where Kelley’s distinctive lead vocals are so good that you can’t ignore it, or the fun back and forth banter of “Lookin’ For A Good Time”, these two singers always save the songs. Luckily, this single goes the same way.

In this case, the two sing together, duet-style, mostly in harmony. The premise of the song is about how when “this world keeps spinning faster”, there’s that person that you run to- who saves you. The same idea as Kenny Chesney’s “You Save Me” or The Dixie Chicks’ “Easy Silence”, just to name a few. Just the fact that I can rattle off songs with the same exact idea shows how bland the idea is (With the Chick’s song being the standout; listen to it here). What makes “I Run To You” different is how Kelley and Scott literally sing to each other as a “couple”. As always, Kelley has the superior vocals, with some very nice falsetto, but Scott does a great job as well, and I’m really starting to like her voice. Even better are the harmony vocals that start early on in the song and continue throughout. This song shows how well they really sing together, and I think they would be much better off if all of their songs sounded this good. Read more of this post