My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Daily Archives: January 28, 2009

Single Review: Gloriana – ‘Wild At Heart’

 

Gloriana

I first heard of this group at Roughstock where Matt B. discussed this same single. Since my computer doesn’t do the audio files that Roughstock uses, I couldn’t hear the song. I saw the picture of this group (The same one posted here) and I instantly thought “Little Big Town knock-off.” I was only partially right.

 

Gloriana is inevitably similar to LBT, with 2 girls and 2 guys and all 4 doing vocals together. However, while LBT is more acoustic rock-country, Gloriana is much more pop-country. LBT sounds more mature, while Gloriana sounds much younger. For a nice analogy:

Gloriana is to Little Big Town as Taylor Swift is to Sara Evans.

I think that’s accurate, as Sara tends to incorporate at least some country sound into her music and isn’t incredibly popular right now, while Taylor Swift is super-young and full on pop.

Anyway, back to the song. I like it, obviously, or it wouldn’t be here at all. Unfortunately, I feel like future songs from Gloriana might be overly happy and young-sounding, which could get very annoying. I just can’t see Gloriana doing any remotely sad songs, which is definitely a turn-off for me. However, this song is too much fun to resist!

The song starts with hand claps and some mandolin by Cheyenne Kimball (The pictured blond girl who already had a record deal in 2006). One of the guys (I honestly have no idea which one…) sings almost all of the lead vocals in the verses, that all build up to a large 4-part harmony chorus. The chorus is where the song gets really fun- and it’s impossibly catchy. It’s really poppy, but still has just enough twangy instruments to keep it in mainstream country, but beyond that, it’s a pop song. Read more of this post

Snowed In…

I live in Ohio, and let’s just say that it’s been snowing for a while now, with freezing rain and ice and all around bad weather.

My car- really.

My car- really.

As a result, I’m bored. No school yesterday, no school today, with no homework. Our Satellite TV isn’t working, and the internet almost broke (I almost had a nervous breakdown until I saw the router was unplugged)… So I’m working on scholarship essays, and listening to music of course. I’ve listened to everything from “That’s Not My Name” by The Ting Tings to “Spotlight” by Jennifer Hudson. However, it’s very cold and dreary and I haven’t left the house since Monday.

So I have a simple question:

What songs do you listen to when it’s cold and snowy? Or what songs do you think I should listen to in order to warm up?

Right now I’m on a varied playlist with artists like Patty Loveless, Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Beyoncé, the Dixie Chicks and Coldplay- but it’s just not doing it for me… I want some good music for bad weather, so give me some recommendations!

PS: That really is my car. I took the picture this morning…

PSS: Martina McBride revealed her new cover art for Shine on her Myspace:

Shine, by Martina McBride

Shine, by Martina McBride

Very cool cover! What do you guys think?