My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Daily Archives: January 25, 2009

Poll – Grammy For Best New Artist

Well I know you guys don’t like non-country artists, but I wanted to go along with my recent theme of Grammy categories. If you haven’t noticed, Lady Antebellum is nominated for the Best New Artist against some steep competition and the Jonas Brothers. Now you’re probably wondering “So what?” grammy1

Well, the other three competitors in the category are three of my favorite artists, who I have discovered through iTunes free singles, namely Duffy, Adele and Jazmine Sullivan. I got all of their respective free singles over the course of 2008, and then followed them to get their debut albums throughout the year, and I love all three of them.

Adele and Duffy are both considered neo-soul singers, compared to Amy Winehouse, while they have no resemblance to her in any way. Adele is a singer-songwriter with a blusey voice who comes from England, while Duffy sounds like she traveled through time straight from the 60’s, while she really came from Wales. Jazmine Sullivan sings R&B and hails from Philadelphia- tutored by Missy Elliott and she has had much success in the U.S.

About their songs, Duffy has her international hit “Mercy” (Nominated for the Grammy for Best Female Pop Performance), Adele has the hit “Chasing Pavements (Nominated for 3 Grammys including Record and Song of the year) and Jazmine has her R&B #1 “Need U Bad” (And is nominated for various R&B awards).
Read more of this post

