My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Daily Archives: January 12, 2009

Interpret That Tune

mcc21While country songs tend to be more direct than those in other genres, the format is not at all void of the abstract lyric. And sometimes those are my favorites. Sugarland’s latest album is a perfect example of brilliant lyrics that are left up to the interpretation of the listener. We don’t always need to be hit with a heart-string line to feel the emotion from the music.

There are some songs I’ve had to listen to several times before I could get the gist of what the writers were trying to say to me – and not because the singer lacked interpretation, but simply because the lyrics are more hypothetical than factual. There are other tunes that I’m still not sure what they’re trying to tell me. And I don’t think I am alone – surely there are others out there who just don’t understand certain songs. And to help those of us out, I think a discussion topic is needed.

So, in what will be the first of a new series at My Kind of Country, here is the very first Interpret That Tune topic. And a special thanks to SD for the suggestion in their comments on our My Favorite Songs Ever… post.

To start us off, I tried to select a song I think everybody will be familiar with, and ask you your take on the lyrics. What do you think the message behind the song is? What do you think the narrator or the songwriter(s) is trying to tell us? Spell it out in the simplest terms you can. And rather than muddy your interpretation with my own take on the song, I am going to let you go first, then chime in with my opinion later. So, let’s try this, shall we?

This week’s song: Mary Chapin Carpenter – ‘He Thinks He’ll Keep Her’.

You can also watch the music video, which features Emmylou Harris, Kathy Mattea, Trisha Yearwood, Pam Tillis, Patty Loveless, and Suzy Bogguss.

Country First

2008-weblong-awardsThis is a reminder that everybody’s favorite country music blog is representing country music as a finalist in the 2008 Weblog Awards. Don’t forget to go vote for them here, and then go back every 24 hours and do it again. The 9513 was my introduction to country music blogs and how great they can be. Their site also lead me to other now must-read sites like Country 9513Universe, Country California, PhotoCrap, the GG Column, and at least a dozen others.