My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind – Miranda Lambert – ‘The House That Built Me’

Today we officially sold my childhood home, which my parents bought in the late 1970s. I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster, especially this past weekend, when we cleaned the last of our belongings out of the garage.

Last week a close friend came over to help us say goodbye to the house, and I shared this song with her to mark the occasion. When she arrived she said she had been fine (she’s also in the process of selling her childhood home) until she pressed play. I had a feeling she hadn’t heard¬†Allen Shamblin and Tom Douglas’s ¬†masterful lyrics or Miranda Lambert’s perfect delivery.

There isn’t a better piece of music to sum up exactly what I’ve been feeling as we’ve led up to this day. This is also my favorite performance of the song, the singular highlight of the 2010 ACM telecast.

One response to “Classic Rewind – Miranda Lambert – ‘The House That Built Me’

  1. jaredrexclark May 28, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    Great song and I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

