My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton – ‘Milwaukee, Here I Come’

8 responses to “Classic Rewind: Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton – ‘Milwaukee, Here I Come’

  1. Paul W Dennis February 16, 2014 at 1:56 am

    from THE PORTER WAGONER SHOW , cute cover of a 1968 hit for the duo of George Jones & Brenda Carter. Porter & Dolly recorded the song as an album cut without flubbing any of the lines !

  2. Ken Johnson February 16, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    Nice find there Hope – what a fun clip.
    Diehard Porter & Dolly fans will finally have their dreams come true as one of country music’s all time greatest duet combos will be spotlighted in a Bear Family Box set. Set for release on May 5th all of their duets from 1967 to 1976 totaling160 songs will be included on 6 CD’s. Most of their original RCA Victor albums have never been released on CD so this will indeed be a treasure trove for their fans. Check it out here:

    http://www.bear-family.com/en/country-western-1/just-between-you-and-me-complete-recordings-1967-76-6-cd.html?force_sid=5d3dc542d9b64c2d2614ca08db63117f

    • Paul W Dennis February 16, 2014 at 3:18 pm

      I don’t buy a lot of the Bear Sets – I think I’ve purchased twelve over the last twenty-five years, but this one I will definitely acquire !

      • Michael A. February 16, 2014 at 4:35 pm

        Thanks for that link, Ken. Any idea what that price listed in euros translates to in dollars. I knew the set would be kind of pricy; I was just hoping it wouldn’t be THAT expensive.

        • Michael A. February 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm

          Nevermind… I decided to answer my own question. I think it’s $172.46. Damn. I think it could be worth not eating for a couple months. :)

  3. Leeann Ward February 16, 2014 at 4:44 pm

    That’s pretty pricey, indeed, but something I’ll strongly consider!

    • Ken Johnson February 16, 2014 at 8:47 pm

      You do have to keep in mind that this box set includes 6 CD’s (160 songs) plus an excellent book with extensive notes and a sessionography. If you break down the price per CD and the book it’s a pretty good value. Granted the cost will not fit everyone’s budget but there is no other CD source for the majority of this material. I’ve only been disappointed with one Bear Family set – the Bill Anderson box – because the music was dubbed from less than pristine vinyl records as the Decca master tapes had been torched in the 2008 Universal Studio fire that also destroyed their audio tape vault.

      The folks at Bear Family truly do a great job compiling these iconic box sets but unfortunately they charge top dollar if you purchase them via their website. There are much better deals to be had if you do a little online comparison shopping. Ebay & Amazon sellers frequently offer lower prices (sometimes with low or no shipping charges). Another go-to site for me is http://www.deepdiscount.com as they regularly discount their iventory and often have excellent sales too. It’s surprising how widely prices can vary for the Bear Family sets. If you don’t have to have it immediately upon release you might find some sweet deals. Like my mama told me – you gotta shop around.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

