My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind – Lionel Cartwright – ‘I Watched It All On My Radio’

One response to “Classic Rewind – Lionel Cartwright – ‘I Watched It All On My Radio’

  1. Paul W Dennis November 30, 2013 at 12:14 am

    One of my all-time favorite songs, this top ten record from 1990 tells my story from 1961 until we moved to London, England in 1969. Whether living in Maryland or Virginia, I could always pull in Oriole baseball on WBAL radio , then if I was still awake, I’d search for another game, usually landing on KMOX in St Louis where Harry Caray was broadcasting St Louis Cardinal baseball. If the Orioles had an off-night I’d try to tune in the Red Sox broadcasts, but they didn’t come in that clearly. I usually could pull in the Washington Senators games on WTOP.

    If I happened to fall asleep before the game ended, on weekdays I would find my subconscious serenaded by the music of the Harley Show on WBAL, sponsored by the Harley Sandwich Shops. This show played jazz, which is where I absorbed the music of Duke Ellington, Count Basie , Charlie Parker, Louis Armstrong and others. The show’s openng theme was “Things Ain’t What They Used To Be” by Duke Ellington (I don’t remember the closing theme since I was sound asleep by the time the show ended).

    Like Cartwright, on Saturday I would search for the Grand Ol’ Opry radio broadcasts, although while living in Maryland (1961-1965), I’d usually wind up with the WWVA Jamboree since it came in better. From 1966-1968 I’d usually listen to the Opry on Saturday nights. I actually preferred the WWVA Jamboree since it featured the great Doc & Chickie Williams as mainstays.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

