My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Random playlist 2

It’s been a month since I posted my last random playlist, so I thought I’d update my new favorites list. These are just a selection of songs I’ve been listening to quite frequently lately. Maybe one or more of them are in heavy rotation for you right now too.

Trisha Yearwood – Drown Me … This is just one of the many, many superb tracks on Trisha Yearwood’s Heaven, Heartache, and the Power of Love album, in which she created a template for a modern female country album that’s near perfect. Too bad not many are following her design. This funky, rhythm-driven country romp finds two lovers at the end of their time together, with both realizing it, but neither wanting to hurt the other with a goodbye. Yearwood wryly tells her boy, ‘So won’t you give it to me straight/I got a lot of heart to break/And a lot of love for you that needs to die‘, hoping the un-amicable ending will cool any flames that might remain between the two.

Sunny Sweeney -Refresh My Memory … Like a fool, I let all the glowing recommendations of Sunny Sweeney’s Heartbreakers Hall of Fame album pass right by me, mostly because I’ve always got way too many titles on my to-buy list.  But after hearing her stellar new single, ‘From A Table Away’, I finally picked up a copy of her CD – at the Ernest Tubb Record Shop in Nashville, no less.  On the drive home to Ohio from that trip, I gave the CD two complete listens, and the first track is the one I was drawn to most.  It’s been an awful long time since she felt the spark this guy brings to her, or perhaps since she’s felt any sparks at all, and with ‘Refresh My Memory’, she implores him to jog her memory a bit.  With steel guitar leading her Texas twang, Sunny glides through the song effortlessly.

George Jones – I’m Not Ready Yet … ‘I’ve always said that someday I was gonnnaa leeeeeaaaaavvee you‘.  So begins this classic George Jones hit where he contemplates over and over again the day he’ll finally leave this relationship that’s been dying for quite some time.  More than once, he set a date to walk out, but he’s just not ready yet to be out on his own.  Maybe someday.

Suzy Bogguss – Aces … Guilt is a very unkind and unsettling emotion.  And some of us don’t take criticism very well.  ‘Aces’ addresses both of those topics with candid honesty.  Amidst an elegant backdrop of 90s country production, Suzy Bogguss sings here of the mistakes she’s made, her lover’s reaction, and gives her response to the charges – ‘You can’t deal me the aces and think I wouldn’t play’ – before ending with her declaration of love.  Truly excellent.

Martina McBride – Wrong Again … The continuing countdown of the 400 Greatest Singles of the ’90s at Country Universe brought this song back to my attention again last week.  Since then, I’ve found myself clicking play on it more and more.  One of Martina’s finest and most understated moments, it finds her admitting her own mistakes, and longing to be past making them at this point.  I’m with you, Martina.

Mary Chapin Carpenter – I Put My Ring Back On … The lead single from Carpenter’s latest album didn’t get much attention from country radio, but it’s right up there with the best of her literate and melodic up-tempo tracks.  Finding faith to stay the course in a relationship makes the basis for ‘I Put My Ring Back On’, which, as the title suggests, finds the singer forgiving rather than running away, after a heated fight.

Kenny Chesney – Better As A Memory … Easily my favorite Chesney single from the past decade, ‘Better As A Memory’ is a slow-paced and sparse confessional, and the delivery showcases Kenny Chesney’s ability to wrap into a great lyric, when he’s chosen one.  ‘Never sure when the truth won’t do/I’m pretty good on a lonely night/I move on the way a storm blows through/I never stay, but then again, I might‘.  And so goes the revealing testimony in this track.

Jamey Johnson – Women … With romantic entanglement comes frustration.  Jamey Johnson and co-writer Jim Brown come closer to describing the fairer sex than I ever could with this soon-to-be classic cut.  Another confessional, this time framed by a more traditional country production, Johnson tells of his struggles with commitment, ‘I’ve made a sad one laugh/And I’ve made a good one cry/I’ve made one scream my name to the good lord by and by/I’ve made ‘em go insane and I’ve made ‘em go away/Just can’t ever seem to make one stay‘ before concluding his weakness and the self-realization that ‘with any luck I’ll take one home tonight’.

What songs are you playing the most these days? Any particular reason why you’re drawn to them right now?

14 responses to “Random playlist 2

  1. highwayman3 July 29, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I guess my favourite songs I’ve been spinning the most lately according to itunes play counts seem to be.

    Merle Haggard – I’ve Seen It Go Away … Perfect fit for him to sing about and believable coming from him.

    Mandy Barnett – I’ll Just Pretend – Wasn’t firmiliar with her stuff till recently, what a voice.

    The Mavericks – Oh What A Cryin Shame – I liked this song when it came out, and finally got around to aquiring it this year. Makes me long for the 90’s when stuff like this rose to the top.

    Dierks Bentley – Pride (In The Name Of Love) – I know not alot of people liked this song in the comments of the album reviews, but for some reason I do.

    Ashley Monroe – Make Room At The Bottom – Talent

    Alan Jackson/Lee Ann Womack – Till The End – Great Vern song with two good true country voices.

    Emmylou Harris – Wayfaring Stranger – Classic song meets a classic voice.

    Chris Young – Chisled In Stone – One of my all time favourite songs.

    Alison Krauss – Lay My Burden Down – Is it even worth saying why, its Alison Krauss.

  2. Ben Foster July 29, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Patty Loveless, “Why Baby Why” – Patty breathes new life into a George Jones classic on this stellar track from her “Sleepless Nights” album.

    Shania Twain and Billy Currington, “Party for Two” – Don’t look at me like that – I know all the critics hate this song, but we’re all entitled to a little guilty pleasure time. Plus, you’ve got to admit that the “Party for Two” music video was one of the cutest videos ever made. I hadn’t listened to much Shania in recent years, but there has lately been a great resurgence of the Shania Twain craze.

    Sugarland, “Stuck Like Glue” – I’m sure everyone who has heard this song either loves it or can’t stand it. I belond to the former group. A reggae rap in a country song? Only Sugarland would think of that.

    Sara Evans, “Fool, I’m a Woman” – Country Universe’s 400 Greatest Singles of the Nineties feature reminded me what a great song this is, and now I’m playing it nonstop.

    Luke Bryan, “Rain Is a Good Thing” – I’m a sucker for those hooky fiddles.

    Faith Hill, “This Kiss” – Might be the catchiest country song of all time.

    Reba McEntire, “Cathy’s Clown” – I love Reba’s version of this song.

    Trisha Yearwood, “Wrong Side of Memphis” – Just earlier today I was listening to this song while driving on I-40 toward Nashville!

    Kathy Mattea – “Eighteen Wheels and a Dozen Roses” – Awww, so romantic!

    Alan Jackson, “Good Time” – I taught my friends how to do the line dance to this song. It was a blast!

    Dolly Parton, “Applejack” – Play one, Applejack!

    Mary Chapin Carpenter, “Halley Came to Jackson” – Possibly my favorite MCC song.

    “I Put My Ring Back On” – J.R. has some good taste!

    • J.R. Journey July 29, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      ‘Applejack’ brings back fond memories of driving through the forests and jamming out to Dolly Parton and other music with my friends during my high school years. Good ole’ days. ;)

  3. Leeann July 29, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Nice list, J.R. I like yours too, Ben. I’m one who enjoys “Party for Two” as well.

    You know, I’ve been listening to a lot of George Jones thanks to the coverage here this month. He’s always been one of my favorite male vocalists even before I really embraced traditional country music. So, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying my time with his music this month.

    The bottom line is: you guys rock.

    • J.R. Journey July 29, 2010 at 11:37 pm

      Why thank you, both of you. Your always great list(s) at CU have given me lots of reasons to revisit some of my own favorites, so I’m glad to have returned the favor a bit.

  4. Andrew Leprich July 30, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Nice lists, guys. Personally, I’m more of an album guy and don’t really shuffle individual songs, but the albums I’ve been listening to the most lately are:

    Trisha Yearwood – Heaven, Heartache, and the Power of Love (I’ve never explored Yearwood’s discography beyond her singles, so I started with this album. Now I understand why she’s so acclaimed. I need to pick up the rest of her albums ASAP).

    Lee Ann Womack – Call Me Crazy (finally got around to picking this album up. It’s stellar all the way through).

    George Jones – I Am What I Am (MKoC’s recent review renewed my interest in this one. One of my favorite albums by my favorite country vocalist).

    Daryle Singletary – That’s Why I Sing This Way (one of my perennial favorites, Daryle has a great neotraditional voice and this album of covers of classic country songs is fantastic).

    George Strait – Does Fort Worth Cross Your Mind (George in his early years. You can tie him, but you can’t beat him).

    Rodney Crowell – The Houston Kid (Crowell is easily one of my favorite songwriters working today).

  5. Pingback: Rascal Flatts Joins Big Machine; Russell Crowe Cast as Country Singer; Canadian Country Awards | The 9513

  6. will July 30, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    1. Rosanne Cash – 7 Year Ache.
    2. Pam Tillis – In Between Dances.
    3 Carlene Carter – It Takes One To Know Me.
    4 Chely Wright – The River & Jezebel
    5 Dolly – But You Know That I Love You
    6 Lorrie Morgan – Exit 99
    7 Marie Osmond & Dan Seals Meet Me In Montana
    8 Patty Loveless The Nights Too Long
    9 Patty Loveless On Your Way Home
    10 Tanya Tucker Your Loves Amazes Me
    11 Trisha Yearwood – Nothin Bout Memphis

    • travis in va July 30, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      I love Patty’s On your way home, and Pam’s inbetween dances. Great songs that have always gotten heavey play from me.

  7. Pingback: Rascal Flatts Joins Big Machine; Russell Crowe Cast as Country Singer; Canadian Country Awards - cFox.net

  8. travis in va July 30, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I have been listening to these songs alot lately:
    1. Hoyt Axton- Bony Fingers
    2, Linda Ronstadt- Just One Look
    3. Little Big Town- little White Church
    4. Patty Loveless- Here I Am
    5. Pam Tillis- Deep Down
    6. Emmylou Harris- Cressant City
    7. George Strait: So Much Like my Dad
    8. Gail Davies- Bucket to The South/ Grandma’s Song
    9. Suzy Boggus- Outbound Plane
    10. Lacy J Dalton- Workin Class Man

    • Ben Foster July 30, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      Also love “Little White Church” – one of the best songs currently on the radio. I think “Here I Am” might be one of Patty’s best performances, which says a lot. As for “Deep Down,” I think it can only be fully appreciated when listening to it in the car with the volume turned up and the windows rolled down. It’s my favorite song by one of my favorite singers.

      • Michael A. July 30, 2010 at 9:15 pm

        Ooooohhh… creepy. I was just out running and listening to my iPod and realized that there is at least one song that has been bumped up to heavy rotation for me lately, so I was gonna comment how much I like… “Here I Am” by Patty Loveless! I’ve always considered “Nothing But the Wheel” and “You’ll Never Leave Harlan Alive” to be my favorite Patty Loveless songs, but I’ve found a new appreciation for the clarity and control demonstrated in “Here I Am”. I’ve often overlooked it in the past. Steve in Boston is gonna love this. :)

        Count me as a fan of “Little White Church” too as well as most of the other songs on Travis’ list.

  9. John February 12, 2011 at 5:39 am

    Guys,..
    I’ve always considered “Nothing But the Wheel” and “You’ll Never Leave Harlan Alive” to be my favorite Patty Loveless songs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

