My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Classic Rewind: Doug Stone – ‘I’d Be Better Off In a Pine Box’

This was one of the first country songs I remember really loving.  Somehow the melody just sucked me in and I didn’t even know how dark the lyrics really were until I was much older.  There are lots of 90s country songs like that for me, those I memorized and then later learned what they meant.  One of my favorite things about this video is the audience is made of country music legends – you’ll see Vince Gill, Roy Clark, Bill Anderson, Janie Fricke, John Conlee, Little Jimmy Dickens, and many more – and they are all in the moment, enjoying the song.   I’m right there with ‘em.

5 responses to “Classic Rewind: Doug Stone – ‘I’d Be Better Off In a Pine Box’

  1. Michael October 31, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Wow. I haven’t thought of Doug Stone in years but he did have quite a few songs that I liked (Little Houses, Too Busy Being In Love, I Never Knew Love, Faith In Me, Faith In You, Sometimes I Forget, Why Didn’t I Think of That, In a Different Light, I Thought It Was You, Come In Out of the Pain) so I’ll have to give his Greatest Hits CD a spin today.

  2. Occasional Hope October 31, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I love this song.

  3. Razor X October 31, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    This was by far his best song.

  4. Paul W Dennis October 31, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Doug Stone had a run of four years of terrific songs. This isn’t my favorite song, but I like it a lot. I saw him earlier this year , was surprised at what an accomplished guitar player he is

  5. Bob November 1, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Besides his old hits, I liked “Nice problem”, a Kim Williams – Tim Johnson song that is admittedly on the sappy side but one that I think many can relate to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

