My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Recommendation: Should have been a hit

gary allanI’ve heard several people say that Gary Allan’s ‘Half of My Mistakes’ should have been released to radio. I’m inclined to agree with them.  It was my favorite track on his Living Hard album from the first listen, and has held that spot ever since.  While the album housed 3 successful singles, with each declining slightly from their predecessors in quality and success, I was still hoping for ‘Half of My Mistakes’ to be released right up until I heard that he had a new single from a new album coming out.

I still haven’t given up all hope.  Brad Paisley and Keith Urban recently released singles from albums that were a couple years old and Garth Brooks took a track from a decade-old album to the top 10 in 2000.  So there’s still a chance that Gary’s team could pull this song out and release it to radio.  That would make me happy.

What songs from recent albums do you think got looked over and would have been hits?  And what do you think about an artist digging back into their catalog to release a radio single anyway?

29 responses to “Recommendation: Should have been a hit

  1. Chris August 12, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    “Flat On The Floor” by Carrie Underwood is a much better song than “Last Name”, and they both have similar energy. They’re both over-blown scream-fests though.

    Miranda Lambert should have put out “Dry Town” as a single…

    • Steve from Boston August 12, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      “Flat on the Floor” should have been a hit for Katrina Elam, who recorded it first and does it better.

      Dry Town would have been great for Miranda, or Easy From Now On

  2. highwayman3 August 12, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    This is a tough question because there are lots of great quality music on recent albums that in an ideal world would have made big hits, but todays country climate isn’t an ideal world, and quality is sacrificed in order to reach number 1, its tough to say.
    You could say any song on a Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley album would have made a hit, because whatever they release will go number 1.
    I will say though, of all the singles released from Tim McGraw’s, ‘Let It Go’ album, ‘Shotgun Rider’ my favourite, got looked over, and would have been a big hit with recurrent spin potential. Keith Urban and Ronnie Dunn’s ‘Raise The Barn’ as well, because its a duet and feeds to radio, got overlooked, and would have made a concert staple for Urban.

    • J.R. Journey August 12, 2009 at 11:15 pm

      I like ‘Raise The Barn’ too. And I expected it to be a single – the opening guitar riff and long opening made it perfectly tailored for radio.

  3. Razor X August 12, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I thought “House of Cash” by George Strait and Patty Loveless should have been a single.

    • James S. August 12, 2009 at 11:51 pm

      Releasing “House Of Cash” would’ve been cool for getting to hear Patty on the radio again. I always thought “House With No Doors” should’ve been a single from that album, too.

    • Steve from Boston August 12, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      YES!

    • highwayman3 August 13, 2009 at 12:05 am

      I like this song, and would like Patty back on radio and everything and it would be a hit, however I am growing tired of people capitolizing on Cashes name. Heidi Newfield would be no more prominent then Whitney Duncan, nor have gotten nominated or performed on the ACM’s if it wasnt for the mention of Cashes name in her song. It seems every artist needs to record a song with his name mentioned, as a rite of passage. I’d imagine there’s even a man standing on a hill somewhere in Switzerland casually calling out Johnny’s name in between yodels.

  4. Steve from Boston August 12, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Yes to “House of Cash”

    Also, I think Patty’s Keep Your Distance, and Sara’s Coalmine, as well as Dwight’s Intentional Heartache, all from ’05, all deserved to be smash hits, but sadly were pretty much overlooked.

    • Razor X August 13, 2009 at 12:07 am

      Which is why I really don’t care very much anymore if songs I like are singles or not. I’ve given up on country radio so it doesn’t really matter to me anymore. It seems like we’ve gone from a time when the best songs on an album were expected to be released as singles to a time where the best songs are too good for radio.

      • Steve from Boston August 13, 2009 at 7:40 am

        I’ve reached that place too Razor, since ’05…when I first heard Patty’s “Keep Your Distance”, Sara’s “Coalmine”and Dwight’s “Intentional Heartache”, I thought of all three, “number one smash hits for sure” but that was the year that I woke up and grew up and realized that songs can be too good, and too Country for “country” radio and TV…

    • highwayman3 August 13, 2009 at 12:15 am

      Good picks Steve, for Coalmine, 2 things killed the song, bad timing, it was released after a coalmining disaster somewhere in the States. and second annoyance, the 3rd verse build up where all the voices are going at once sounds like a daycare after snack time and it doesnt pay off when the song kicks back in after its done. It’s a great song and everytime I listen to it, all I think about is that 3rd verse.

      • Steve from Boston August 13, 2009 at 7:36 am

        I think the lack of a video killed Coalmine as well, video support seems essential nowadays, in a symbiotic kind of relationship to radio.

        I like the rounds in the third verse of Coalmine, except on the record, it sounds as though Sara herself provides her own backup, and that does make it somewhat annoying. Far better in concert when her sisters fill that role and Sara sings lead throughout ;).

      • Leeann Ward August 13, 2009 at 12:30 pm

        I’ve still never noticed a problem with “Coal Mine”, but I’ve never gotten into “House of Cash.”

        By the way, it does annoy me when artists release songs from former albums. I’d rather that they just let us listen to that specific song from the former album and not take up space that should be for new music to fill some leftover regret for not releasing an old song.

      • Nicolas August 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm

        I believe “Coalmine” would’ve been a big hit, but it was only on the charts for a short time before the coalmining disaster cut its life short. =/ Its my favorite Sara Evans song.

        And I think they could’ve made a video for it…. although everytime I imagine what it would’ve looked like, I think it would’ve been a little too… dirty. Its basically get home so we can make love by the light of his miner’s helmet. Hehe.

  5. texasfaye August 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

    From GARY ALLAN Living Hard–“Like It’s A Bad Thing” great tune.

  6. Pingback: Cindy Walker Willed Catalog to Hall of Fame; Tracy Lawrence Hospitalized | The 9513

  7. Chris N. August 13, 2009 at 11:42 am

    There’s a song called “She Don’t Love Me” that was recorded by Billy Ray Cyrus and later Blake Shelton. I’ve always been convinced that’s a hit waiting to happen.

    • Drew August 15, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      Didn’t know Billy Ray recorded it, but Trent Willmon’s version is great, although I know there’s no way he’d have any sort of radio success with anything he put out.

  8. Lauren August 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I agree that record labels are really missing the mark these days with the choice of singles being released. One of the greatest faux pas to date was by MCA Nashville and their decision to not release Puttin’ Memories Away by Gary Allan. While Gary released several solid songs off of Tough All Over, MCA really dropped the ball in not promoting the single and for that matter the cd. The single contained almost every component that is necessary to infuse into a great country song. Allan told the story from a first person narrative that few artists live through and then go on to write so eloquently about living with the aftermath. Since then Allan has been going a different direction with his music and I have to admit not the same direction I’ve been traveling.

  9. Matt B. August 13, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I think Lady A’s “Slow Down Sister” had hit potential. I was surprised that Emerson Drive’s “A Boy Becomes A Man” wasn’t released, it would’ve been some kind of hit for them or at least better than “You Still Own Me.”

    Eric Durrance’s album had a song called “This Side Of Sober” that is very good and while it could technically get released, I think he’s working on another album. That same album also featured a soft acoustic piano ballad called “Life Is Hard.” The first line “Sometimes life is hard, it’s like trying to bail out an ocean with a spoon” slays me every time.

    I agree with “Half Of My Mistakes” and I’ve loved that song since I first heard it on the Blue Dogs CD (Bobby Houck’s band) a few years back. It’s certainly well-recorded as Jace Everett and Radney Foster have recorded it too.

    I always thought “Off My Rocker” from Billy Currington’s debut was a big ole hit.

  10. Occasional Hope August 13, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I’ll second House With No Doors from Strait’s last album. Also Between The River And Me, which was the best track on Tim McGraw’s last studio release, from which they released a ridiculous number of singles, all far inferior.

    • Leeann Ward August 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      I’m just amazed by the singles that were released from the McGraw album considering the good songs from it that they could have released instead. If I didn’t automatically buy his albums, I would have assumed the album was really horrible based on the single releases.

  11. Matt B. August 13, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    The Warren Brothers have a song called “The Lucky” that was on their indie album that I have always loved. I think it would’ve done great had it been a single.

  12. James S. August 13, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I second what Razor X and Lauren said. I can’t count the times I’ve been frustrated with the single choices the Nashville labels have made throughout this decade. I rarely ever listen to the radio as well.

    As for an artist going back to release an older song, I don’t mind it as long as it’s really worth it. I was thrilled when Garth released “Wild Horses” because I’ve always loved that song and thought it would’ve made a great single. Like Leeann, though, I prefer they do not include the older song on their latest album.

  13. K-man August 16, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I completely agree that Carrie’s Flat on the Floor should have been released. I was very disappointed when “I Told You So” was released instead.

    I don’t like George Strait, but I did listen to “House With No Doors” and I actually thought the lyrics were very clever.

    “Raise the Barn” by Keith Urban would have been a good release, as well as “Shine” and “Won’t Let You Down”.

    Off Josh Gracin’s latest CD, “Invisible” and “Let Me Fall” were worthy singles in my opinion.

  14. Claudia August 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    “Loretta Lynn’s Lincoln” by Josh Turner. Can’t believe they didn’t release that.

  15. Pingback: Cindy Walker Willed Catalog to Hall of Fame; Tracy Lawrence Hospitalized - Engine 145

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

