My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Rediscovering Tracy Lawrence

tracylawrenceThere are so many artists and songs I’ve been a fan of over the years, that it’s inevitable I forget about a song or album that at one time I absolutely loved. Especially when you’re constantly adding to your music collection. So, I always like reading the What’cha listening to? thread on The 9513’s forum.  Mostly because somebody will almost always remind me about a forgotten gem. The good folks at Country Universe are also great at pointing out bygone treasures from the past.  Don’t miss their Starter Kits this month since they’re featuring artists from the 1990s – my favorite decade of country music.

Last night I spent the evening here at my desk catching up on emails and doing some writing.  I had my media player on random when Tracy Lawrence’s ‘Today’s Lonely Fool’ came on.  I immediately stopped and listened because I always loved that song.  Tracy gives this tale of a remorseful man a powerful vocal and adds plenty of emotion.  I believe he’s sorry.  So after hearing that, I went to my collection of Tracy Lawrence songs and listened to ‘Time Marches On’, ‘Alibies’ , and my personal favorite, ‘Texas Tornado’.  I always preferred Tracy Lawrence as a ballad singer.

Random playlists have lead me to rediscover, or at least revisit, several artists and songs that had worked their way from my memory.  I like when that happens.  It’s almost like hearing them for the first time, all over again.

So, what artists have you forgotten about? And recently had a reunion with their music?

15 responses to “Rediscovering Tracy Lawrence

  1. Michael August 5, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I’ll have to think for a little bit about my favorite rediscoveries but I do want to mention three of my other favorite (and mostly forgotten) Tracy Lawrence songs that are worth listening to:
    The Coast Is Clear
    Lonely
    It’s All How You Look at It

  2. highwayman3 August 5, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    These days, commerical country music being what it is, I find myself searching back into the 90’s and discovering some music that I missed or was too young to appreciate back then. I recently bought Mark Chesnutts Greatest Hits and Clint Blacks Greatest Hits, both released in 1996. I’ve been listening to them alot and it makes me miss that country sound at radio.

  3. Jake August 5, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I’ve been listening too a lot of Reba’s music(your site’s artist feature has gotten me to revisit some of her music.) And listening to her music again I’m still reminded why I liked her in the first place.

    BTW, country music in the 90’s is also my favorite decade of the genre as well, being a kid in the 90’s in brings back good memories. But who knews maybe someday I’ll look back at the 2000’s music as a whole and think it wasn’t as bad as I think half of it is now :D

  4. Razor X August 5, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    “… who knews maybe someday I’ll look back at the 2000’s music as a whole and think it wasn’t as bad as I think half of it is now.”

    Nah. :D

  5. Sean August 5, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Here recently, I’ve been going through Clint Black, Lorrie Morgan, and John Michael Montgomery’s catalogs. I sort of strayed away from them (I really don’t know why) but i came back and have really been enjoying it a lot.

  6. Leeann Ward August 6, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Thanks for the link, J.R. Not surprisingly, our nineties coverage is what I’m revisiting/rediscovering right now and I’m quite enjoying it.

  7. Claudia August 6, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Kathy Mattea. I’m enjoying her “Definitive Collection” CD. Just love “455 Rocket” Remember the video?

    Speaking of videos, I had occasion to see Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “He Thinks He’ll Keep Her” the other day. Remember that all-star chorus? If memory serves: Kathy Mattea, Trisha Yearwood, Pam Tillis, Suzy Boguss, Emmylou Harris, Patty Loveless. Not a one of them is getting any airplay or chart action, anymore. So very sad.. Those were the days.

  8. Paul W Dennis August 6, 2009 at 9:45 am

    For Tracy Lawrence I particularly liked “Alibis” and a recent number “Used To The Pain”

    I’ve been rediscovering Clint Black

  9. plain_jo August 6, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Tracy Lawrence has long been a favorite of mine. I was hook when Thats How a Cowgirl Says Goodbye, came out. Used to the Pain is one of my favorites as well as a cover of Keith Whitely’s I’m Over You. I know most people say it is a bad cover but i like it.

    I have been discovering The Wrights recently.

  10. Lanibug August 6, 2009 at 11:14 am

    My ipod is filled with CD’s I bought when I was in college, which was the early 90’s, so that includes Tracy Lawrence, The Kinleys, Little Texas, Lorrie Morgan, Mindy McCready, The Wilkinsons, Sherrie Austin, Suzy Bogguss, Lila McCann, Billy Dean, Blackhawk, Confederate Railroad — and I am rediscovering all of their music – because for the longest time — all of their CD’s just sat on a shelf and collected dust….and now that I have an ipod I am once again listening to all of their music and remembering why I liked them in the first place…

  11. idlewildsouth August 6, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I just found my Essential Ronnie Milsap. Id def forgotten how much I loved some of his music.

  12. Todd August 6, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Michael “Lonely” is a killer song. I heard it on the radio the other day for probably the first time since it was on the charts the other day and was floored by how great it was!

  13. Michael August 6, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Yeah, it’s mostly forgotten now so I’m surprised you heard it on the radio. I think it barely cracked the Top 20 when it was released. Chock it up as another single whose quality was not reflected in its peak chart position.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

