My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Super Summer Giveaway

Update: We hope everybody enjoyed our John Anderson coverage for July and hope you’ll be sticking around as we sort through Reba’s catalog this month.  And thanks to everybody who entered our giveaway.  A chance to win Reba’s new album is just around the corner.  The winners names are next to the album you won below.  Congratulations and check your inboxes soon!

The dog days of Summer are here.  The mercury is shooting up and the only place to be is ‘on a creek bank layin’ in the shade’.

In hopes of making the sticky Summer a little more pleasant for you, My Kind of Country is announcing our Super Summer Giveaway.  We’ve put together a prize package of seven great country CDs to give away to seven lucky winners.  Thanks to various means, we have hits packages from George Jones and our spotlight artist John Anderson as well as the latest albums from Charlie Robison and Adam Hood.

giveaway-JAsuper dale schmucker John Anderson - Super Hits … This Sony release contains most of John’s hits from his 1990s comeback like ‘Straight Tequila Night’, ‘Seminole Wind’, ‘I Wish I Could Have Been There’, and more.  His biggest hit to date is also included, a re-recording of 1982′s ‘Swingin’.

giveaway-JAgreatest Kathy P John Anderson – Greatest Hits … John Anderson’s career with Warner Brothers is highlighted here.  ‘She Just Started Liking Cheating Songs’, ‘Wild and Blue’, and ‘Black Sheep’ are just a few of the stone-country classics on this set.

giveaway-AHdifferent Jessica, Jordan Stacey Adam Hood - Different Groove … Adam wrote or co-wrote each of the 10 songs on this set, 5 of them with producer Pete Anderson.  Tight playing and clever lyrics drive this sophomore set from the Alabama native.  Two winners will each get a copy.

giveaway-CRbeautiful Amanda, plain_jo Charlie Robison – Beautiful Day … The latest from the Texas music titan chronicles his divorce from Dixie Chick Emily (Irwin) Robison. Read The 9513′s review. Two winners will also get a copy.

giveaway-GJsuper Melvyn George Jones – Super Hits …  Finally, to round out our giveaway, these are The Possums’s best -loved hits.  From ‘White Lightning’ to ‘He Stopped Loving Her Today’ to ‘Who’s Gonna Fill Their Shoes’, this is George Jones at his apex.

What’s your favorite Summer memory?  Or your favorite song about the Summer time.

23 responses to “Super Summer Giveaway

  1. plain_jo July 12, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    My favorite summer song is International Harvestor. Nothing like a good tractor song for summer. Summertime Blues, When The Sun Goes Down, and Swingin’ are also a great summer songs.

  2. Paul W Dennis July 12, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I always liked “Summertime Blues”, althought he Eddie Cochran original from 1958 is far superior to any of the to any of the covers.

    Another great song is “SummertIme” from the Gershwin play PORGY & BESS. The best recording of this song is by the duo of Louis Armstrong and Ela Fitzgerald

  3. Melvyn July 13, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Gotta be Garth Brooks’ song “That Summer”.

  4. rajunqueen July 13, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I love no shoes no shirt no problems
    As soon as summer times hits an I get off for summer vaca
    I head to the beach kick off my shoes
    drink a pina colada and listen to some beach tunes
    and This song gets me right in the mood!!!!

  5. Sandy July 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Adam Hood is my favorite!!

  6. Andrew July 13, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    “No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problems” is my favorite summer song.

  7. idlewildsouth July 14, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Hmmm…I’d say my favorite summer memory is Papa tricking us into picking his plants by having “Potato Hunts”. You see, whomever won, they got to snap the peas…and on a good night, the winner got to crank the ice cream!

  8. Russ July 15, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I’m gonna have to second “That Summer” by Garth. Probably my favorite song of his.

  9. dale schmucker July 16, 2009 at 12:04 am

    I always like brad paisley’s song I’m going to miss her (better known as the fishing song)

  10. Pingback: Ricky Skaggs Goes Solo; Taylor Swift vs. Ernest Tubb; Caitlin & Will Debut New Video | The 9513

  11. Jordan Stacey July 16, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Favorite summer memory is being at my family’s cabin in the mountains, helping my grandfather build a rock wall along the drive way. It was always fun because I got to go explore new places to find new stones to put in the wall. It was also important time to me cause that’s when I fell in love with country. Hanging out with my grandfather is when I listened to country as a kid.

  12. Jake July 16, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    While it may not specifically mention summer, Alan Jackson’s Chattahoochee gets my vote.

  13. Amanda July 17, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Favorite summer song is definitely “Summertime” by Kenny Chesney. Reminds me of all the craziness from college!

  14. Hubba July 21, 2009 at 1:46 am

    “If We Make It Through December” is my favorite

  15. KathyP July 22, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Favorite summer memory: us kids in the neighborhood would go outside after breakfast to play or swim or explore and wouldn’t come home till dinner. Safer times back then. Not at all like today when you have to watch them like a hawk .

  16. Valerie July 24, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    fav summer song Happy Together by The Turtles

  17. ShootingStarsMag July 25, 2009 at 2:13 am

    My favorite summer song…I really like The Ataris version of Boys of Summer. That’s always a fun one. I have a lot of summer memories though, mainly just growing up and running through the woods.

    Awesome giveaway, thanks.

    -lauren

  18. Steve from Boston July 25, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Favorite Summer song? Hard to say, If it doesn’t have to be Country, I’d say Mungo Jerry’;s In The Summertime…

    Many of Bob Marley’s songs…One Love, Buffalo Soldier, not Summer songs per say, but Jamaica reminds me of Summer, (and my honeymoon) and Marley is the voice of Jamaica…

    And pretty much all of Jimmy Buffett’s catalog, love his duet with Martina “Trip Around the Sun”…the video has great Summer scenery, and his duet with AJ “Five O clock Somewhere”

    I grew up on Cape Cod, and Kenny Chesney’s song “Anything but Mine” reminds me of the bittersweet end of Summer, when many of the tourist related businesses would close up for the season, and friends and tourist aquaintances woud abandon us to the approaching Autumn and Winter, and leave the the Cape itself to us natives.

    Great topic and contest, J.R.

  19. Lanibug July 27, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Was reminded of my favorite summer memory this past weekend, family reunions — as I get older I realize that my family is as well, and it may be the last time that I get to see family members and as I looked through old photographs from past family reunions, I realize how much these people have shaped my life and believe me – my family is quite large and I grew up with them all around me…..

    • J.R. Journey July 27, 2009 at 4:16 pm

      I know how that is too, Lanibug. My grandparents on both sides came from the generation before contraceptives were commonplace and as a result my Dad has 10 brothers and sisters and my Mom has 12. That gives me countless cousins, seconds cousins, and aunts and uncles to gather at the family reunions. It takes a state park or some sort of lodge hall to hold us all, but I always enjoy getting together again … and am enjoying it more and more as I get older too.

  20. Chris August 3, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Congrats to the winners!

    My best summer memory? Probably this summer, filled with tennis, friends and roller coasters. Too many good memories have made this summer for me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

