My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Recommendation: Songs about getting over him/her

It’s a major theme of music in general, maybe moreso in country music, the song about trying to get over an ex. Sometimes it works (“Nah!” by Shania Twain or “Strange” by Reba McEntire), sometimes it doesn’t (“Keep You” by Sugarland or “Something Burning Out” by Pam Tillis), but when done right, it sure makes a good song.
rhonda_water

While the previously mentioned songs are favorites of mine, they aren’t my real recommendation for today. In honor of her new album, Destination Life, I’m spotlighting Rhonda Vincent’s marvelous “I Gotta Start Somewhere” from her last album, Good Thing Going.

This song takes a 3-act story format, showing the narrator’s struggle to get over her lover. She tries escaping to Carolina, then to a new man, but by the end of the song gets to here:

Lookin’ for a place
To turn my heart around
Where I can hear your name
Without breaking down
Tonight I’ll get on my knees
Pray to find healing there
Lord, I gotta start somewhere…

It’s a turn of the story that doesn’t feel forced or contrived, she wants to feel better, to move on, and she tries everything she can. The story is left open, so we don’t know if she’s moved on, but we assume she hasn’t. Rhonda gives a wonderful performance, with perfect highs and lows and it never gets bombastic. It’s also tethered by the bluegrass-ish instrumentation that keeps it simple, yet beautiful. Enjoy the music video below!

So what are your favorite songs about trying to “get over him/her?”

15 responses to “Recommendation: Songs about getting over him/her

  1. Razor X June 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I always liked “Another Chance” by Tammy Wynette. Not one of her better known songs, but one of my favorites. The embedding is disabled, but if you right click on it and select “Watch on YouTube” it will take you to the YouTube page:

  2. idlewildsouth June 18, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Hands down, “Learning To Live Again”, Garth Brooks.

  3. Pingback: Pre-Order Radney Foster CD and Preview Zac Brown Band’s ‘Toes’ | The 9513

  4. J.R. Journey June 18, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Travis Tritt and Lari White had a terrific duet called ‘Helping Me Get Over You’ that fits this theme. And it’s a great song too.

  5. Razor X June 18, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    And let’s not forget Tammy Wynette’s “Til I Can Make It On My Own”, Reba’s “For My Broken Heart”, Vince Gill’s “Trying To Get Over You”, and Alan Jackson’s “Monday Morning Church.”

  6. Erik June 18, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Reba’s “I’m Gettin’ Over You” is pretty awesome.

  7. Mike K June 18, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I’ll probably get killed for this one, but the song that came to mind for me was “I Might Get Over You” by Kenny Chesney. It was on one of his earlier albums before he was marooned in the caribbean and I always liked it. My alternate pick would be Daimond Rio “You Ain’t In It.”

    • CMW June 18, 2009 at 9:19 pm

      While we’re doing Chesney confessions, I’ve always had a soft spot for “I Can’t Go There” off of No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems. Covers similar territory and it’s about as listenable as a Chesney/McGraw collaboration could ever be.

    • Leeann Ward June 18, 2009 at 9:52 pm

      I’m with Mike on “You Ain’t in It.” “Killin’ Time” by Clint Back is good too. There are obviously a ton of songs on this theme and I’ll be danged if I can think of any of them right now.

  8. Michael June 18, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    I’ll go with Trisha Yearwood’s “Everybody Knows.”

  9. idlewildsouth June 19, 2009 at 12:38 am

    I’ll also throw Diamond Rio’s “Your Gone” in.

  10. Debbie June 19, 2009 at 9:19 am

    How about “Nothin’ But the Wheel”? That’s my favorite Patty Loveless song (and video).

  11. Michael June 19, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Speaking of Patty (and I do so LOVE “Nothin’ But the Wheel”), I heard “I Try To Think About Elvis” this morning which I guess would qualify.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

