My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Recommendation: Songs about “the other woman”

While getting a card for my mom’s birthday at Wal-Mart, I decided to swing through the CD section. While browsing the CDs, I found Tanya Tucker’s 20 Greatest Hits, so since I know none of her songs, I picked up the set for 8 bucks. So far, my favorite track is “Soon”, the title track of one of her 90’s albums, and a #2 hit on the country charts. It’s a song about “the other woman”, the mistress of a cheater. So here are my three favorite songs about her, “the other woman.” (shortened to “TOW”)

“Soon” by Tanya Tucker

This song portrays the beginning, TOW has a summer fling with a taken man, and it goes too far. All he does is tell her that he’ll be with her soon, leave his other girl soon, but eventually it gets to this:

He’ll say soon to her forever
So she makes her new years resolution
Soon she won’t call him anymore
Soon, when he shows up at her door and
Asks her when can I be with you again
It’ll be her turn to say
Soon.

She wants to break free from him, and she will, soon. Tanya really gives this song the emotional thrust it needs, and it never gets bombastic like it could. It’s a little resigned and regretful, as it should be.

“Stay” by Sugarland

Yeah, you all know this song, but it had to be mentioned. Here TOW goes through an epiphany:

I can’t take it any longer but my will is getting stronger
And I think I know just what I have to do
I can’t waste another minute after all that I’ve put in it
I’ve given you my best, why does she get the best of you?
So next time you find you wanna leave her bed for mine,
Why don’t you stay?

This song takes that moment of epiphany and illustrates it perfectly, capturing all the emotion and motivation that goes into it. It’s a modern masterpiece, and hands down one of the best songs on radio recently (If only they would release “Very Last Country Song” as a single…). TOW is portrayed not as a villain, but as a person with their own feelings and self worth who has been deluded and betrayed.

“She Gets What I Deserve” by SHeDAISY

Finally in this song, TOW regrets what she’s done to the wife of the man she was with. She knows everything about the wife, having seen her from a distance. She sees the hurt the wife, and wishes it was all different:

I can’t whitewash my excuses,
I can’t cover up the stain,
I can’t give back what I’ve taken,
I should be the one to bear the pain.
I just pray that God forgives me
For what I’ve done to her
She gets what I deserve…

This song conveys the massive amount of regret necessary for this kind of song, and Kristyn Osborne really proves her writing chops. SHeDAISY is often mocked and teased by country fans, but this song is a great country song that really proves their worth.

So what are your favorite songs about “the other woman”?

21 responses to “Recommendation: Songs about “the other woman”

  1. Razor X June 10, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Nice write-up, Chris. “Soon” is one of my very favorite Tanya Tucker songs.

    As far as other “other woman” songs, there’s Loretta Lynn’s “You Ain’t Woman Enough (To Take My Man)”, “Woman Of The World” and “The Home You’re Tearin’ Down”, and of course, “Does He Love You” by Reba McEntire and Linda Davis.

  2. Chris June 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I was very impressed with “Soon” when I heard it. The greatest hits CD I got has mostly later hits, with “Delta Dawn” being the exception.

    I like how these three songs highlight very different aspects of TOW, how she’s deluded, breaking free and the associated regret. It’s cool how songs about the same thing can be so different.

    • Razor X June 10, 2009 at 9:06 pm

      That’s a 1990 re-recording of “Delta Dawn”.

      • Chris June 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

        Is it? I actually haven’t been able to listen to the whole album yet, I’m working a lot. I’ve only gotten halfway…

        • Razor X June 10, 2009 at 9:43 pm

          Yes, the oldest track on that CD is 1989’s “My Arms Stay Open All Night”. The rest is all ’90s material.

          Tanya re-recorded a number of her Columbia and MCA hits for the 1990 album Greatest Hits Encore . I don’t usually care for re-recordings, but these are an exception to the rule. The re-recorded versions are faithful to the originals, but as an adult Tanya is a better vocalist, and of course, the modern recording technology helps as well. The album is out of print, but cheap used copies are available on Amazon.

  3. Paul W Dennis June 10, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    David Rogers had a great ‘other woman’ song with “She Don’t Make Me Cry”, back in the early 1970s

  4. Chris June 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I thought of a few more:

    “Homewrecker” by Gretchen Wilson (Techically a would-be other woman, but…)

    “Cologne” by Dolly Parton (My favorite track off Backwoods Barbie)

    “Greyhound Bound For Nowhere” by Miranda Lambert (Could definitely be interpreted that way)

  5. Todd June 10, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    A couple of recent other woman songs that were great are Miranda Lambert’s “More Like Her” and Joey+Rory’s “Cheater, Cheater”.

    • Chris June 10, 2009 at 11:39 pm

      Ooo! Two of my favorites! I thought of “More Like Her”, but I completely forgot “Cheater Cheater”.

      It might be a stretch, but “On Your Way Home” by Patty Loveless address the cheater about the woman.

      So which cover version of “Does He Love You” is the favorite? I’ve seen Martina McBride & Kelly Clarkson in addition to Jamie O’Neal & Carrie Underwood. I love them both, but I haven’t seen either in a while. (Of course I think the original is the best by far…)

  6. Razor X June 10, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Don’t forget Janie Fricke’s “She’s Single Again”.

  7. Pingback: Sara Evans Scores SOAP Sponsorship | The 9513

  8. Mike K June 11, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Three that came to mind

    “Whoever’s in New England” – Reba. I fully expected somebody on this site to have mentioned this one already.

    “Holding Her and Loving You” – Earl Thomas Conley. I always really liked his voice and this song is full of the tension that love triangle’s bring. “She made my days long before you made my nights.”

    “(Margie’s at) The Lincoln Park Inn” – Bobby Bare. Tom T. Hall wrote the song, but I am most familiar with Bare’s version. I always thought this was a great description of a man who, outwardly, seems to be doing all the right things, but is wrestling with his own sins inside.

  9. Delilah March 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    these songs really helped me a lot. they each speak to me. Im in love with a man who is about to be a father soon. He spends his nights with me. And to make matters worse his bestfriend is my exboyfriend and hes still in love with me. but i love him

    my favorite is stay by sugarland

    thank you all for the song suggestions

    • Dominique August 12, 2012 at 11:34 am

      Deliiah,

      I am in your situation as well. Except the man I’m in love with doesn’t have kids and is only common law married (for over 10 years). The thing that makes it difficult for me is that I know his wife(common law) quite well. I know a lot of ppl who read this would say I’m a horrible friend-and person. but I really feel like he is my soul mate! Things happen when I’m with him that are magical. You just can’t help who you fall in love with!
      I’m so tortured by all of this. But at the end of the weekend- I’m the one who usually ends up alone.
      Try the song “My Heart cant tell you No”….
      This one is great!

      Dominique.

  10. Christy June 6, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    My favorite song is Stay by Sugarland because it described a situation that I had to go through to be with the guy that Im with today. My boyfriend and his ex-girlfriend were together for 9 years and towards the last 5 years of it he wasnt happy at all. He was looking for someone new to share his life with, which he found me of course, but he wanted to hide me from her or anything that we had going on between us even after he told her that it was best they went their seperate ways. So yes I was the other woman in the relationship for a while. They are friends to this day and even though that everything is out in the open and she knows about us, when they are together I feel like im an outcast because he dont want to talk to me and all attention is on her. I still think they have something there and that its going on secretly but I dont know for sure. Me and this man have a baby due in August as well. Any song suggestions for this type of situation. Or even a little word of encouragement would help. Simply because when they are around each other I still feel like the other woman even though everyone knows the truth and we are together, Im tired of feeling this way. How do you get over that feeling??

  11. pwdennis June 6, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Told from the masculine side – Ray Price’s song “The Other Woman”. Told from the distaff side – “The Other Woman” by Loretta Lynn – same title entirely different song

  12. Michael A. January 13, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    Heh. I heard Barbara Mandrell’s “If Loving You Is Wrong, I Don’t Wanna Be Right” on the radio today and was reminded of this post.

  13. LadyS January 31, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Shenandoah “Why Does It Have To Be (Wrong or Right) and Sylvia “Nobody”

  14. amy July 21, 2013 at 11:09 am

    “Plain Gold Ring ” by Nina Simone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

