My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

CD Giveaway: Eric Church – ‘Carolina’

carolinaUpdate: And the winners are … Caroline and Lanibug – comments number 1 and 8.  I’ll be getting in touch with you via email to get your shipping information – so check those inboxes.  Congratulations to these two ladies, and look for more giveaways to come next month as we have a very special feature planned for our April spotlight artist series.

Two major albums hit the stores this week.  One is Martina McBride’s long-awaited tenth studio album, Shine.  The other is the sophomore album from our March spotlight artist, Eric Church titled Carolina.  C.M. Wilcox (of Country California fame) recently reviewed the album over at The 9513.  So rather than make a futile attempt at following a fabulous writer like C.M. Wilcox and write a review of my own, I just decided to give away the album myself, and let you all make up your own minds about it.  Write your own review, so to speak.

The idea is simple:  comment with your favorite Eric Church song, why you’re a fan of Eric’s, or just tell us why you think you should get a copy of this album.  Two winners will be chosen at random, and each will receive a copy of Eric Church’s Carolina.  Deadline to get your comment posted is Sunday March 29 at 11:59 PM.  Good luck!

And if you just can’t wait, you can pre-order the CD from Eric Church’s official site and even listen to samples of all the tracks. Or you could of course get in your car, go to the local Wal Mart, and just buy the CD that way.

20 responses to “CD Giveaway: Eric Church – ‘Carolina’

  1. Caroline March 24, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Absolutely LOVE this cd! Have been playing it non-stop and just can’t get enough. Eric Church – CAROLINA – go out and get you one!! *grin*

  2. Jordan Stacey March 24, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Well my favorite Eric song is “Two Pink Lines” it was one of the most original songs he’s released, in fact i’d say it’s his best song to date. I should get the album because I looked everywhere today in Montreal and nowhere seems to be stocking it so I may not get a copy.

  3. Leeann Ward March 24, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Eric is hit and miss for me, but I like “Two Pink Lines” and especially enjoy “Livin’ Part of Life.” Now, “Two Pink Lines” gets a bad rap from other bloggers, but I’ve always been amused by it.

  4. Robbie March 24, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    My favorite of the songs on his new album is probably the lead track, “Ain’t Killed Me Yet” or “Longer Gone.”

    The whole album is awesome though and “Carolina” as well as “Those I’ve Loved” are great. Go pick one up today or get it on iTunes (only $9.99, well worth it).

  5. Rich Michaud March 24, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Love “These boots” and “Lightning”!! Met Eric in Nashville, super nice guy. I could really use the new CD, the old one’s all worn out :)

  6. Dylan March 24, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    My favorite Eric Church song is “Can’t Take it With You.” I love his sound because it is so different from everyone else right now.

  7. lanibug March 24, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I have to say my favorite song is “Lightning” and the reason you should give me the album is because I do not own a Eric Church album and as Brady or Brody once put it I live on E(ric) Church Street (and believe me it was one of them who said it)…….

  8. Brady March 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Ok, I admit it. That was me. Good luck with the giveaway!

  9. plain_jo March 25, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    My favorite Eric Church song ….so far, is Sinners Like Me. His music is to my soul, what rain is to a freshly plowed field. Refreshing

  10. Mike K March 25, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    My favorite song of Eric’s is “Lightning.” Haven’t heard the new album yet, but I hopoe it is as good as his first. I don’t have any analogies.

  11. Sean March 26, 2009 at 1:56 am

    I, for some reason, love “Two Pink Lines.” I also love “Those I’ve Loved” from his new cd. I heard just a small clip and Eric’s voice was just great!!!!

  12. Michael March 27, 2009 at 11:57 am

    My favorite Church song is his debut single, “How ‘Bout You”. Thanks. :)

  13. CMW March 27, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I’m just excited that there’s a tag for my name now. Thanks for the kind words, J.R.

    • J.R. Journey March 27, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      … and a tag for Country California. I read it daily, and I’m glad you’re excited. Now you’re ‘it’!

  14. Chad March 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    I like two pink lines quite a bit.

  15. Erik March 29, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I put “Carolina” as the best song on his new album. I’ve only been to NC to connect on a flight, but as an Upstate-New Yorker that’s been displaced to North Dakota, the lyrics of missing home and dreaming of going back to it speak to me.

  16. Andrew March 29, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    I’m fond of “Sinners Like Me”.

  17. David Jones March 30, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    My favourite Eric Church song would have to be “Guys Like Me”. When I first heard it, I thought, “This is Chris Cagle, isn’t it?” Of course, it wasn’t, it was Eric Church. And that’s how I became a fan.

  18. Caroline March 30, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Thank you so much J.R.! Look forward to reading your insightful blogs. I might not always totally agree, but I do find them most interesting. :)

  19. lanibug March 30, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Thanks guys – much appreciated — always love reading my Ohio guys….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

