My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Grammy Pre-show – Country Winners and My Thoughts

grammyHere are some of the country winners already announced on the Grammy pre-show. These are the awards that won’t be televised at the ceremony on CBS tonight.

Best Country Song:  Jennifer Nettles, ‘Stay … Isn’t it great to see ‘Stay’ get so much recognition? Plus, I think Jennifer is the best thing since penicillin anyway. 

Best Country Album:  George Strait, Troubadour … I’m kinda surprised at this one, but not at all disappointed.  This is King George’s first Grammy.

Best Female Country Vocal Performance: Carrie Underwood, ‘Last Name’ … Eww. How could Trisha Yearwood NOT win this year? 

Best Male Country Vocal Performance: Brad Paisley, ‘Letter to Me’ … I thought Jamey Johnson would get some Grammy love this year. Guess not.

Best Country Collaboration with Vocals: Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, ‘Killing the Blues’ … Yep.

Best Country Instrumental Performance: Brad Paisley, Vince Gill, Steve Wariner, etc. ‘Cluster Pluck’ … I hadn’t heard many of the nominees in this category, but I think Brad got this one on name recognition rather than his skills on the ax.

 

The show starts at 8:00 Eastern time on CBS.  Don’t miss Sugarland performing on the show. And be sure to check out the Grammy Live Blog over at Country Universe.

16 responses to “Grammy Pre-show – Country Winners and My Thoughts

  1. Gavin February 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Three in a row for Carrie. I guess she didn’t need to use “Just a Dream” to grab another Grammy. I think it is safe to say she will win next year as well and maybe the year after that. I predict Brad will win next year as well.

    Very happy for Jennifer Nettles.

  2. Razor X February 8, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    I’m surprised that Carrie won. “Last Name” is easily her worst song to date. I thought Trisha had that one wrapped up.

  3. Erik February 8, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I am so pissed right now.
    I think I hate the Grammys even more than the ACMs and CMAs, as the Grammys got my hopes up by nominating Trisha and LeAnn, and then they let that monstrosity win.

  4. Erik February 8, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I’m actually disappointed with the outcome of the entire thing.

  5. Chris February 8, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    YES!!! Adele won best new artist! Take that Jo Bros!

  6. Occasional Hope February 9, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    What a really depressing set of winners, especially Last Name. OK the recorded version isn’t quite as appalling as the live one Carrie did on the show, but it was still by far the worst nominee. It doesn’t even bear comparing to Last Call or the Trisha Yearwood track.

    And while I don’t begrudge George Strait his first ever Grammy, Country Album of the Year was a very strong field which his record, while good, was the least deserving.

    I’m pleased Stay did well for Sugarland (and they did a great version live).

  7. Blake Boldt February 9, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    I would talk again about my disappointment with the Female vocal category, but that doesn’t seem to be well-received.

    Adele was phenomenal last night, I thought. “Chasing Pavements” kinda begins and ends with the chorus, but she gives it a good wallop.

  8. Razor X February 9, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    George Strait seems to be the Susan Lucci of the Grammys — overlooked so many times that they felt they had to give it to him this time. I liked “Troubadour” but agree that it isn’t his best album by far.

    Blake, by all means talk about your disappointment with the Female Vocal category. Are you disappointed in the nominees or just the winner?

  9. Blake Boldt February 9, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    It’s too bad that Strait wasn’t at the ceremony and that category was in the pre-telecast portion. Has anyone ever seen the Lucci clip of her winning? It’s pretty emotional stuff, very soap opera-y.

    While Lambert and Loveless deserved to be in the Female Vocal category, I can kinda, sorta live with their exclusions. But Underwood’s win is so vacant. I would’ve pulled the lever for “Jesus, Take the Wheel,” and maybe “Before He Cheats,” but good golly that was a name-recognition award win. Carrie graciously accepted the trophy, though. I will give her that. Shania Twain and Faith Hill won Grammys for the same reason. All three artists have been deserving of recognition at certain points in their careers, but when they receive such a glutton of accolades, critics like me become jaded. Then Artist X’s fans get infuriated and defensive b/c of the criticism. Then it’s an endless circle of frustration on all ends.

  10. Gavin February 9, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    It is not like Last Name won song of the year. It is a performance award. I mean did any of the other ladies besides Carrie and Martina perform their songs live. If they have it is news to me. Carrie performed her song in front of 30 million viewers when she sang Last Name just on the Idol Finally alone. Anyone can perform a song in studio and sound great. If they are going to compare studio recordings then they might as well just flip a coin.

  11. J.R. Journey February 9, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    That’s not really a valid argument, Gavin. Carrie Underwood’s performance last night was anything but great.

  12. Razor X February 9, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Here’s a live performance of Trisha’s song:

    Not that this argument is even relevant since it is the recorded performance that the award is for, not the live performances.

  13. Gavin February 10, 2009 at 8:01 am

    J. R., I thought it was one of her more entertaining performances of that song.

    Razor X, recordings can be digitally enhanced and wouldn’t seem like a fair comparison. Thanks for the link, she sounded great.

  14. Leeann Ward February 10, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I’m with Blake here. It can be a vicious cycle between fans and critics when artists win awards during the undeserving periods of their careers. For instance, to leave Carrie out of this one for once, I really like George Strait. There have been definite times when he’s deserved awards that he hasn’t won. This time, however, I felt was undeserving. This does not mean that I don’t like George Strait or that I’ve never felt he deserved an award, but people will defend this award because it’s George, not because the album actually deserved to win. Everyone is saying, “well at least he’s finally won an award”, but I’m saying, “Too bad he didn’t win an award when it was actually deserved.” Timing really is everything, I guess.

  15. Razor X February 10, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Gavin, the Grammys are given for recorded performances, not live performances. I don’t understand your point.

  16. Razor X February 10, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Leann, I would have been happier if “House Of Cash” had won a Grammy, as opposed to the entire album. That is a great track and I think recognition for it would have been deserved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

