My Kind of Country

Country music from a fan's point of view since 2008

Poll – Grammy For Best Country Album

grammy1So I figured out how to make and post polls here, so I thought I would start with this one:

Simple, but probably a tough choice for most people. My personal choice? I’m not quite sure, but Trisha edges out to the front for me with Loveless next, then Johnson, then Strait. The Travis album is the only one I don’t own, so I bet’s it’s good, I just don’t have it yet.

I think I like Trisha’s the most because of the amazing song choice, and it never loses my attention. Sometimes I get tired of albums, but I’ve never gotten tired of Heaven, Heartache And The Power Of Love ever!

So vote, and we’ll see who gets the top place!

If you want, post here why you picked who you did.

For an in depth history of this category, visit Country Universe!

16 responses to “Poll – Grammy For Best Country Album

  1. Occasional Hope January 16, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    They’re all really good, but my pick is Sleepless Nights, which I think is as close to perfect as a country record can get – singing, production, and song choices.

  2. Ronda January 16, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Randy’s CD is the only one I do have and it is spectacular. You can listen to it on imeem if you like. The Bob Dylan song Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright is awesome. There is not a single track that I don’t love. As for my favorite, it might be You Didn’t Have A Good Time, or maybe it’s From Your Knees. I don’t know it’s too hard to pick just one.

  3. Leeann Ward January 16, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I went for Patty’s CD too, though Trisha’s isn’t far behind.

  4. Razor X January 17, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Every one of these albums is great. I voted for Sleepless Nights but will be happy with whichever one wins.

  5. Steve from Boston January 17, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    One of the vocal supporters for Patty’s Sleepless Nights here! ;)

  6. CF January 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Almost voted for Patty, but ended up going for Trisha since her material is new and just awesome (Patty’s is awesome too and she puts her own spin on those classics but they’re still remakes/covers, so I kept that in mind). I would love if Trisha, Patty, or George won, though. If Jamey or Randy won too, I wouldn’t mind too much.

  7. J.R. Journey January 17, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    This is easily the strongest country category for the Grammy’s this year. I won’t be disappointed whoever wins, but I am pulling for Trisha.

  8. Chris D. January 17, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    It seems we have a lot of silent voters for Jamey Johnson!

    I agree CF, I think I mostly prefer new material than covers, although Patty’s album is amazing, Trisha just did a great job with new songs, and I want to give her credit for that. Not that covers albums are easy, but the songs are mostly established and not brand new unknown songs.

    I don’t know JR, except for the Jonas Brothers, the race for nest new artist is very strong.

  9. Matt B. January 18, 2009 at 3:23 am

    I voted for Jamey although all of those cds are quality.

    Chris, while not my thing, those Jonas Brothers are talented. At least they play their instruments unlike other boy ‘bands.’ Also, they’re likely to win that award.

  10. Razor X January 18, 2009 at 9:44 am

    CF, I had the same dilemma when trying to decide between Patty and Trisha. I ended up voting for Patty because her album is more country, even if it is all cover material.

  11. Pingback: Country Universe » Grammy Flashback: Best Country Album

  12. Chris D. January 18, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I don’t like the Jonas Brothers, but I’m not supposed to, I guess. Adele, Duffy, Lady Antebellum and Jazmine Sullivan are all contenders, with top albums and singles in their respective genres/countries. It will be interesting, that’s for sure. I think Adele will win due to the Grammy’s love of her best song, “Chasing Pavements”, with Jazmine as my alternate choice.

  13. Matt B. January 18, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Then again if the Brothers Jonas win this award, their 15 minutes might be up…So perhaps they SHOULD win it.

  14. Mike K January 20, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I voted for Jamey. I think Trisha and Patty have better voices, but I think Jamey does the best job of putting an album together that allows him to tell a story. He has said that this album represents a period in his life and that certainly comes across as you listen to the record. I hope that the stuff on the radio starts to sound more like Jamey’s album some time in the future.

  15. lucyer February 8, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Randy Travis all the way!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

